A little apprehensive about buying a new computer that I have to build myself

Associate
Hi,

I've posted a few times on here requesting information about possible specs for a new machine. The advice has been great, but so far I haven't pulled the trigger on anything.

I think I am just a little concerned about being sure that everything is compatible and that I am going to know where to start with regard to assembling it, and getting it started - I have NO experience. The only person I know who could help me lives 3 hours away! I would be on my own with it. Obviously I use a computer all the time, but I am just that - a USER. I don't really have much knowledge when it comes to fixing them when they go wrong. Just switch it on, use it, switch it off etc....

I don't mean to sound like a wet blanket, but can you see my concerns? Having said that I am interested to learn - I think I would get a better machine compared to buying a ready made one, and it would be very satisfying.

Can anyone give me any advice?

Thanks.

It really isn't all that bad.

I haven't built a PC from scratch yet, but I have replaced pretty much every type of component over the years.

Most every component there is has just one place it can fit so you cant go too far wrong. :)

SiriusB

I was the same, I was nervous about building my first pc over 2 years ago. When I got the parts I installed it within a hour and a half as it was very easy.

As long as you read the instructions carefully there shouldn't be any problems.
This guide is good, it give lots of pics to show how it's built.
http://sysbuild.corsairmemory.com/report.aspx?id=2

If there is any problems you can just ask on here.

Building it isn't usually the hardest part, thats usually setting up the OS/ getting everything to recognise each other, thats what takes the time usually