A Scania HGV "review" - 10 years after the last one!

Caporegime
https://forums.overclockers.co.uk/t...barbara-hilary-56k-no.17871464/#post-11612236

Some of the old timers may remember this thread, posted back in 2008 after I'd got a then new R Series Scania HGV, whilst I'm sure its pretty much common knowledge for those not in the know I'm a professional HGV driver - have been for way longer than I care to remember - hence the username Scania, my preferred "Horse" to ride around in.....

Anyway, fast forward 10 years from the last review, today I got my grubby mitts on a new generation (as there known) Scania R series and wow! what an improvement over the old model...

vgMVjhS.jpg

016Ue34.jpg

1m2dezl.jpg

Unfortunately unavoidably dirty due to the time of year, its a Scania R450 44t artic, registered in September and already with nearly 18k miles under its wheels, a huge improvement on the older model in every respect bar imo styling - the old model looks much better from the outside I feel but thats pretty much the only part where the old model is better I feel.

For comparison, taken at the OC/UK meet earlier in the year..
C6XAwOH.jpg

Inside is where it shines over the older model, let me take you around...

s4N21HD.jpg
Lots of red lighting which you'll see later, a particularly nice touch being the illuminated door, handy when open in a layby on the A1....
zO1AL9L.jpg
Youll see beneath the seat a hand held control for the air suspension, and if you look closely to the rear you see lumbar adjustment for your lower and middle back (air bags in the seat) and two stage seat heating (stage II should be called arse fryer its that hot!)
v1oaFz6.jpg
Once in your sat in an extremely comfy seat...
rhZuu5t.jpg
Multi function steering wheel controls for the infotainment system, cruise control, phone and truck setup...

x2UiUee.jpg