Advice needed - £400 for Haswell refresh

Associate
Hi all,

I have around £400 for a motherboard, processor and ram refresh. I've decided to go the Haswell route, and thinking of an i5.

The computer will mainly be used for Gaming, Work (Solidedge/Abaqus/Catia/PS etc), and general every day use.

Case/PSU (750w), GPU (GTX760), Storage (3.5"+SSD) and the rest of the peripherals are already available.

I've been looking at the OcUK bundles and the Quasar 240i seems pretty appealing as I dont have much know-how to overclock it myself. I dont think I'll ever use a dual gpu set up, but would the option for SLI be something worth looking for on the mobo, or would the Gigabyte mobo in the Quasar bundle, which only supports Crossfire, be suitable for the needs suggested above? Or would I be better buying other parts from OcUK and learning to overclock with some caution. I am not completely illiterate on the subject and as an engineer I pick things up quite well.

So, what would be the best options for me, with the £400 budget?

Last edited:
Soldato
Associate
95% of people who buy a PC with the intention of upgrading it using SLI or CrossFire never do. (Warning, statistic made up on the spot - but the point stands)

In most cases, anyway, if you take more than about a year/18 months to upgrade, you'd be better off taking your upgrade money, selling your single GPU and adding the two together to just buy a more expensive single card. The performance increases in that time, plus the lower heat output/energy consumption, mean that a new single card usually works out better all around than two of the (now 1-2 year old card) in SLI/CrossFire.