ADVICE ON MIXING SERVERS

Associate
Hi All

Newbie here in need of some advice please...

Basically I am setting up a rack server to use as a 3d rendering farm and media server. I'm looking at doing this with 5 blade servers, with each one setup as a render node and file server when not rendering. The 3d rendering package i use can spread the rendering over unlimited pc's, with each working as a render node. I will be using secondhand blade servers, with max cores as possible for my budget.

My questions is can you mix AMD and INTEL blade servers?....

My understanding is they will effectively run as separate machines on the same network, so shouldn't cause a problem - is this correct?

I'm still learning about clusters - but not sure if this the setup i would need, as i am happy for them to all work independently on the network - not as one - if that makes sense - am i right to think this way?

For reference my current main workstation is an 8 core amd, networked with 2No standard dual core intel desktops acting as file servers for backup and storage, with additional external hard drives, etc.

Many thanks in advance

Paul

Soldato
blades are not clusters... if that's what you are asking? its more a case of 'with the chassis support the models of blades you want to install'..

if you need all the ram maybe go server, if you want CPU power maybe consider a couple of i7s with some over clocking? or Ryzen?

I bet 1x ryzen 8 core will beat a HP dual hex G7 blade xeon for rendering (and be quieter / cheaper to run) and probably cost the same

Associate
OP
thanks for your help...much appreciated!..

this is what i am now thinking:

I'm looking at buying 1No. poweredge server with 2No. xeon X5650 processors running 6 cores each (12 cores in total)

then 4No. TWIN AMD quad core servers running 2.1ghz providing me with 8 cores each, so 32 cores in total

this gives me a total of 38 additional cores for rendering.....plus the 8 i already have on the main workstation