1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Amp n speakers problem

Discussion in 'DHCH Archive' started by Rimm3r, Oct 28, 2002.

  1. Rimm3r

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 693

    Location: Berkshire

    I have the mission 700's and the cambridge audio A1 mk3 amp and when i turn the amp up near half way i get crackleing !

    How can i stop this and whats causeing it ? im guessing its my crappy bannana plugs because when i re wire them it makes it better

    Also if i was to get a new amp for these speakers what do you think i should get?



    Thanks
     
  2. kirstar

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 407

    Location: Northampton UK

    whats your speaker cables...

    what interconnects you using.

    are you using a surgr protector on you mains lead
     
  3. Rimm3r

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 693

    Location: Berkshire

    whats your speaker cables...

    Cat5 cables, but it happend before i had these

    what interconnects you using.

    if you mean banna plugs then im useing cheap plasticy ones from richer sounds

    are you using a surgr protector on you mains lead

    No
     
  4. skyman

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 498

    Location: Cambridge

    interconnects are the cables between your cd/pc/what ever and your amp.
     
  5. Rimm3r

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 693

    Location: Berkshire

    Im just useing it for my pc, and its just a cheap £10 "gold plated" red and white too headpone socket :o
     
  6. skyman

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 498

    Location: Cambridge

    I don't know these speakers or amp but is it possible use just bare wires instead of the banana plugs if you say that it gets better with rewiring?
     
  7. martink

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 28, 2002

    Posts: 314

    Location: Sunbury On Thames

    Hi,

    Don't know if you're aware aware of this but most "domestic" amps are kicking out full volume at 12 o'clock. Any thing past this point you'll just be adding distortion.

    However, If this is a new problem this is what I'd do:

    Strip all my speaker cable down to bare wire (bannana plugs aren't an essential) then slowly and methodically connect the speakers cables. then listen

    Swap all interconncets out one by one. checking the sound at each swap.

    Check your cones for any tiny tears. Damge will be more audiable and visible as the speaker is driven harder.

    Try the amp in another system. if the problems are duplicated it may need a service. Often crackles and the like mean the volume pot needs cleaning.

    New speaker and amp? How about a Rega Brio or Mira and some mission 771s or or a baby Cyrus?

    Cheers,
    Martin
     
  8. Rimm3r

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 693

    Location: Berkshire

    Thanks m8

    The speakers are new.. and it happend in my last ones as well so its not them!

    How much will a service cost and where can i get it done?
     
  9. commited

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 5,369

    Location: Dublin, Ireland

    make sure that all ur mains cables, interconnects +speaker cable are all away from each other+if they have to intersect, have them crossing at right angles..
    that should improve thigs, because that was a problem i had..
     
  10. Rimm3r

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 693

    Location: Berkshire

    This might actually be the case because they all have to go down the same route as im at a quite small corner computer desk :/
    i'll see what i can do now tbh
     
  11. commited

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 5,369

    Location: Dublin, Ireland

    i got some cable ties.. major improvement :)
     
  12. Rimm3r

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 693

    Location: Berkshire

    ive got some lyeing around some where.. but i allways sort out all my cables, then i go to a lan (at least once a month) and they all get in a mess again :/
     
  13. commited

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 5,369

    Location: Dublin, Ireland

    u bring ur hifi to lan?? ;)
    j/k lol.. try and amke sure that Hifi stays seaparate..
     
  14. Rimm3r

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 693

    Location: Berkshire

    nar, :p

    Every time i go to a lan it results in my whole room getting in a huge mess some how.. :D
     
  15. commited

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 5,369

    Location: Dublin, Ireland

    lol.. sounds like everytime i get up!:D
     
  16. Rimm3r

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 693

    Location: Berkshire

    Ok ive rewired all the cables without bannanan plugs and ive crossed all the cables that are crossing other cables at a right angle its working fine now untill you get near to 12 o clock, so thanks for all the help, and i hope this lasts! :D
     
  17. commited

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 5,369

    Location: Dublin, Ireland

    cool
    remember, no lans! ;)
     
  18. martink

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 28, 2002

    Posts: 314

    Location: Sunbury On Thames

    glad you got it sorted. Definately sounds like something wasn't connected properley Pesonally I hate trekking down to repair shops! Happy listening...

    Still your comments about 12 o'clock do sound like you need a beefier amp?
    Martin
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2002
  19. commited

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 5,369

    Location: Dublin, Ireland

    the only amp i know that can go past 12 oclock+all the way to 3 o'clock with no distortion is my dads meridian 101 pre+2x105 power amps.. they're lovely!
     
  20. martink

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 28, 2002

    Posts: 314

    Location: Sunbury On Thames

    You're right Commited. I've only seen it on the more exocti/higher end stuff.