1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anonymous bank account for bank transfers

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Tefal, Feb 12, 2017.

  1. AtreuS

    Soldato

    Joined: Feb 13, 2004

    Posts: 5,165

    Location: Sealed in my Sarcophagus.

    Cant do it as a sole trader i tried many times and unless its a registered business they say nope :p
     
  2. Bluecube

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 20, 2011

    Posts: 1,983

    I'm a sole trader and have a business account with Santander. I never had any problems opening the account either. Unless the rules have changed in the few years that I opened it, you don't need to be a registered company to opened a business account.
     
  3. Dis86

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 23, 2011

    Posts: 23,885

    Location: Northern England

    And if it's a registered business then they can also get your address.
     
  4. Tefal

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: Jun 30, 2007

    Posts: 66,538

    Location: Wales

    Ahh conflicting informstion :p
     
  5. peterwalkley

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 23, 2009

    Posts: 3,515

    Location: South Wirral

    All banks have to comply with "know your customer" legislation for fraud and money laundering. Those that do business in the US (however small) also have to comply with the US version of it and will be a LOT more pedantic about it due to the very predatory nature of US prosecutors.

    You ought to be able do it as a sole trader, otherwise people like plumbers and so on get excluded. If you are forced to go the Ltd co route, then setting one up isn't hard, but it will cost you a little bit. Long time since i did it, so my knowledge is out of date, but a quick google finds: https://www.gov.uk/limited-company-formation/register-your-company.
     
  6. BDEE

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 21, 2011

    Posts: 2,724

    I hear HSBC in Mexico are quite happy to allow such banking facilities.
     
  7. Longbow

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jan 15, 2004

    Posts: 9,339

    You don't need to give out your name for bank transfers, if the 'payee' section is required from your bank you can put in anything.
     
  8. LOAM

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 20, 2004

    Posts: 11,949

    Location: Nottingham

    I can't imagine a business where you don't want clients to know your name, actually no wait I can. As you were.
     
  9. muon

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 8, 2006

    Posts: 18,687

    Location: London

    Do you even need to put down a name when sending money?

    I always thought account number and sort code was enough.
     
  10. diamount

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 3, 2008

    Posts: 2,749

    Did your cocaine wash up in Norfolk? ;)

    Anyway, being serious for a second - I've had plenty of times when someone misspelled my surname when sending me a payment, so you can give them a bogus name - but if you don't want to give your name to the actual bank that's not legally possible.
     
  11. Participant

    Caporegime

    Joined: May 13, 2003

    Posts: 31,112

    Location: Warwickshire

    That's what I was going to say. Nobody can tell what name your account is registered too unless it's a) the bank themselves or b) you tell someone.
     
  12. Tefal

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: Jun 30, 2007

    Posts: 66,538

    Location: Wales

    Thats ok then.

    I wasnt sure if it would throw up an error if it wasnt my real name.


    For now then ill jist open another account and use that and give a trading name foe them to enter.
     
  13. Greebo

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jan 20, 2005

    Posts: 35,009

    Location: Co Durham

    Even if you could now it wouldn't last long. Shortly all online bank transfers will need to have the correct account name or the transfer won't go through. Atm just the sort code and bank account is all that is needed.

    Always thought it was mad as if you type one digit wrong in the account number the money goes elsewhere and legally you aren't entitled to it back.
     
  14. Destination

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 31, 2009

    Posts: 19,808

    This, as all bank accounts will be linked to an address.
     
  15. dowie

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jan 29, 2008

    Posts: 47,100

    Can happen but it still needs to be a valid sort code/account number combo, more likely it isn't and the payment is rejected.
     
  16. Tefal

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: Jun 30, 2007

    Posts: 66,538

    Location: Wales

    Not common enough to be worth the effort
     
  17. mrbell1984

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 9, 2008

    Posts: 24,829

    Op is doing illegal activities.
     
  18. Arazi

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 19, 2007

    Posts: 3,718

    Location: North

    I have not read the whole thread but what about those card accounts that you just top up with money? Probably already been mentioned though :)

    One of these http://www.moneysavingexpert.com/credit-cards/prepaid-cards

    I bet you could be bit untruthyish and still get one of them :)

    Use business name to fill in the First\Last name details on the application > https://sites.prepaytec.com/chopinweb/scarePersonalDetailForm.do?org.apache.catalina.filters.CSRF_NONCE=C8C9F633CE4F81EE60B4769D94A1E09B
     
  19. Tefal

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: Jun 30, 2007

    Posts: 66,538

    Location: Wales

    Nah illegal would be cash :p
     
  20. mrbell1984

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 9, 2008

    Posts: 24,829

    Why hide your name lol