Another air con spec me

Status
Not open for further replies.
Soldato
Soldato
Hi all

Another spec me for AC, however it is for a big room. 15m length, 4.6m wide, 2.8m ceiling height. I'm guessing it is necessary to have a proper wall mounted unit rather than a portable unit?

The space has about 8m of bifold doors (integral blinds so not a huge amount of heat enters through here) and more importantly 2x roof lanterns with no blinds - a lot of heat enters through here. It gets hot even on a normal summers day let alone the temps we are having now so something needs to be done.

Anyone have any suggestdions? I am a complete AC noob and have no idea what sort of price we are looking at, what units to look at etc.

Cheers

Sgarrista
Commissario
Currently looking at a multi-room split system myself, have said for the last 4 years I was going to do it but finally snapped last night lying there unable to sleep due to the ridiculous heat and humidity.

Let me know if you find anything or a particularly useful company.

Soldato
Currently looking at a multi-room split system myself, have said for the last 4 years I was going to do it but finally snapped last night lying there unable to sleep due to the ridiculous heat and humidity.

Let me know if you find anything or a particularly useful company.

same here I considering multi-room split just not sure what kind of electrical wire/connections I need.

also need one of those venting fans on the exterior but need a ladder for that!

Soldato
Add rooftop solar at the same time, then when the sun shines you can cool your house for free.
At night time you wont get any solar gain and wont get much thermal gain. As its already cooled it will be nice and stable.

Keeps running costs down, green credentials and comfort. :)

Soldato
Mine has a 13amp plug that just plugs into a plug socket.

That's a portable one, they're talking about wiring a unit in permanently.