1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Apache 2.2 to 2.4 Upgrade

Discussion in 'Linux & Open Source' started by Nikumba, Jun 12, 2018.

  1. Nikumba

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 4, 2002

    Posts: 3,423

    Location: Bourne, Lincs

    Hi,

    Has anyone managed to do an in-place upgrade from Apache 2.2 to 2.4 on a Redhad based distro?

    Or have any guides where to go.

    Thanks

    Kimbie
     
  2. PaulCa

    Gangster

    Joined: May 3, 2018

    Posts: 459

    Remember you are not bound to your distro's packages. Apache is pretty easy to install from source. Adding PHP and it's modules is a little more tricky, but Apache httpd is pretty straight forward. The one you build from source will be significantly more lean and potentially faster too.
     
  3. Nikumba

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 4, 2002

    Posts: 3,423

    Location: Bourne, Lincs

    Never compiled anything from source before so not sure what is involved. Do you have any guides? Annoyingly we do not have 2.4 in our repo and the guides on the net don't seem to work any more
     
  4. arfoll

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 25, 2011

    Posts: 1,060

    Tbh compiling a web server from source on a public facing system (if this is what this is) is probably a *bad* idea. Stick with your distros maintained package. If the distro is too old then choose a distro that fits your need. If performance is your goal apache is probably not what you want.
     
  5. SoundsGood

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 16, 2008

    Posts: 2,119

    Copy the config over, run apachectl configtest, fix/google any errors it complains about
     
  6. SMN

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 2, 2008

    Posts: 2,388

    Location: The ether

    RHEL supports containers right? Apache 2.4 container, expose the container to /etc/httpd and /var/www (or similar) directories, and test it that way. Gives you a simpler roll back.
     
  7. Hecate

    Associate

    Joined: Nov 11, 2015

    Posts: 1

  8. DeeJay-Mo

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 20, 2005

    Posts: 547

    Location: the dirty souf

    Yeah, I agree. Not worth overthinking it. Just bang it over the head with a hammer until it works. Otherwise, if you have the option / luxury, build a fresh server and migrate the applications instead. This way you can get everything working nice, before switching over.