1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Asus DSL-N55U, Big headache with external Hard Drives!

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by ElectroBlaster, Mar 24, 2013.

  1. ElectroBlaster

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 5,153

    Location: The land of Cows n Grass!

    Guys I am really stuck with this! I have two Seagate GoFlex externals attached to an Asus DSL-N55U on a beta firmware. The seagates are 1TB and 2TB.

    Basically I appear to be loosing data on both drives! Files are going awol at random, turning into something that can no longer be read, deleted or moved! Tonight has just made my day lol.. A folder was made for Movies and I have lost two at random. The files are there but just report 0 for the size for no reason at all. I have one folder of Dr Who stuff that has somehow cloned itself into another random folder and took out the original contents! How the hell that happend is anyones guess?

    I really do not know what is going on? I tried to sort this yesterday by formatting the 2TB on a pc. It passed everything and appears to be ok... Has anyone here got this modem and had issues like this?

    If I cant sort this then both drives are being gutted and fitted into a pc, just too much hassle loosing stuff.
     
  2. Rroff

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 13, 2006

    Posts: 65,608

    Are the drives definitely formatted to NTFS? (rather than FAT32) and/or are the files your having problems with larger than 4GB? I've never found external drive support on modems/routers to be that great tho from my experience.
     
  3. ElectroBlaster

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 5,153

    Location: The land of Cows n Grass!

    Both are NTFS! Re-formatted the 2TB as NTFS. I am aware that ntfs with this modem is slow but I just tried to move stuff and it gets even weirder lol

    The two movies have turned into folders but with nothing in them?
     
  4. Rroff

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 13, 2006

    Posts: 65,608

    May want to try the Merlin Firmware as thats focused on fixes and stability issues with the modem/router.
     
  5. ElectroBlaster

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 5,153

    Location: The land of Cows n Grass!

    Forgive me for being thick but is that a new beta or full firmware from asus?
    I just hate having to fart around, more so at the moment as we are really busy and this coming week is going to be nuts...
    EDIT: Going to google it now!
     
  6. bledd

    Don

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 46,524

    Location: Parts Unknown

    There is no Merlin firmware for this router (yet)

    I have this router, and I use the latest beta firwmare on it 3.0.0.4.335.

    Flash to the that, do the flashing process twice, then do a factory reset by holding the reset button on the back when the router is on for ~15 seconds.

    Now setup the router.


    -


    This will ensure the latest firmware is on there with default settings.

    -

    Personally ,I don't use the USB ports, I just have a machine setup as a server on my network; I prefer having an OS behind a file server, so I can independently backup files etc
     
  7. Rroff

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 13, 2006

    Posts: 65,608

    DOH your right - I thought in one of his recent posts he said he'd got the code for it but actually said they haven't released the GPL code yet.
     
  8. sja360

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 28, 2003

    Posts: 3,801

    Location: Dundee

    Taking a guess but has the router been switched off or randomly rebooted itself? It could be loosing data that way. Are the drives themselves in good condition??
     
  9. ElectroBlaster

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 5,153

    Location: The land of Cows n Grass!

    No the router is on 24/7. Maybe once or twice it has thrown a wobbler and needed to be turned off.

    The drives appear to be in excellent health... but as with anything mechanical and hard drive related, it is possible they are fubard already.

    I have gone to the extreme here and flashed the firmware on the router, I have not tried custom firmware just the oifficial one from asus. Nothing has changed so far... well I am able to copy stuff but odd little things still persist. I cannot even delete certain things, they just re-appear the moment I go anywhere near the drives. Something is not right here and I just cannot figure out what? So I will end up removing both drives. Kinda defeats one of the reasons I chose this router.
     
  10. sja360

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 28, 2003

    Posts: 3,801

    Location: Dundee

    I'll try hooking a drive with some movies to my n55u and see what happens over the next day or so and report back on it
     
  11. ElectroBlaster

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 5,153

    Location: The land of Cows n Grass!

    Where can I obtain this firmware? I am currently digging around the Asus forum but im not having any luck lol. I shall try googling directly.

    EDIT: Looks like I have found it :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2013