Asus Xonar DX works under linux?

Associate
Finally got Ubuntu installed today (32 bit 8.04), and the short answer is no. The card is found by ubuntu, but it doesnt seem to be able to actually use it, which is a bit of a disappointment. Googling returns results of people getting the D2 pci card to run, but i havent found one for the DX yet. Some people on the ubuntu forums have filed bug reports, so i guess it may be resolved, but at the moment (in my experience), it doesnt work.

Associate
Cheers ethics, i'll have a go at this later, although i am a bit of a noob when it comes to linux! I must admit its not such a problem for me - i dont use linux as my main os, mainly just to play around and learn with. Still, would be a good learning experience if i could get this working...

Associate
Cheers ethics, i'll have a go at this later, although i am a bit of a noob when it comes to linux! I must admit its not such a problem for me - i dont use linux as my main os, mainly just to play around and learn with. Still, would be a good learning experience if i could get this working...

it boils down to loading the correct module for your soundcard, very similar to having a driver. The Kernel uses the module to know how to interact with the card.

There are instructions in the link i posted, or you could research the ubuntu docs onto how to load modules in Ubunut in some easier fashion.

Associate