AV Noob

Associate
So I am new to this

I have a cheap and cheerful samsung surround sound system that is mediocre at best but a touch better than the TV speakers

With this in mind I have been round a friends recently who has some TDL Studio 10 speakers and a Marantz? amp which sounds massively better than what I have

So with this in mind and a house move coming up I'd like something better but on a tight budget (maybe around the £300 mark) this can stretch if the right stuff comes along

Now I am aware ofthe large amount of stuff about and differing opinions and I am more than happy to go second hand to get something that is a damn sight better sounding and looking over what I have

So any suggestions?

Soldato
For your budget go for stereo for now, and buy the remtaning speakers later. Something like a £150 AVR and £150 speakers.

Checkout Yamaha 400 or 500 series AVR with maybe Q Acoustics 2000 or 3000 speakers.

Soldato
Yeah what hornetstinger said. You will be surprised how much a difference just the two speakers will make and you can then add whatever else you feel is necessary.

When buying second hand speakers, always make sure you test them if at all possible. I’d suggest a a high pitch song and one with some bass. Also turn the volume down really low and check to make sure there’s no humming/buzzing sounds. Both speakers should sound the same. Can even take a multimeter if you have one and do a sine sweep test (frequency), which can burn on cd etc but do a google search on it if you no idea what I’m on about. :)

Associate
OP
Cheers

Unfortunately I’d have to head to google and go from there!

I’ll have a look around and post back if I happen to come across anything!

Soldato
Check out this offer from Curry's (I'm on a phone so it's a faff to link) and it's probably stuffed up the formatting of this post.

SAMSUNG Sound+ HW-MS550 2.1 All-in-One Sound Bar & Subwoofer Bundle