AV Receiver

Soldato
I'm new to the whole AV Receiver thing.
I'm looking at getting a projector setup in the near future so an AV receiver is going to be needed for sound and switching purposes.
There is such a wide range of AV receivers on various websites but the difference isn't exactly that obvious outside of connections/surround sound options/dobly atmos support etc

So can anyone recommend a decent enough AV receiver or explain what the difference is between one that costs £199 vs £499 apart from the connections/dolby atmos?

Man of Honour
To start off, it kind of depends on whether you plan to run a TV and a projector in the room, or if it's just a projector.

For the two options, you're really looking for an AV receiver with dual outputs. One will take care of the TV and do all the fancy ARC audio support so you can use smart apps on the TV and get sound in surround. The second HDMI output is a picture only signal to a projector. The clever bit is that the amp can work out that it's dealing with say two different display devices (say 4K for the TV, 1080p for the projector, or differences in what they'll do with other picture or sound related functions) and keep either one working happily despite the presence of a second display. You can't always guarantee that with a simple 1 in:2 out HDMI splitter, and you probably won't find a splitter that accommodates ARC. Straight away then, you're going to looking at new AV receivers at £300+.

As for the rest of the features, most AV receivers do the same basic functions. You've got audio switching and decoding, network features, app control is pretty standard now, as is some form of streaming from mobile devices whether that's via Bluetooth, or a network connection, or both. Denon and Yamaha both have their in-house versions of a wireless multi-room system.