Best 360 camera/headset combination

Associate
Hello all,

I am new to this world and I am trying to figure out what is the best 360 video camera and headset combination.

I need something that can be easily viewed back on the fly so ideally no cameras where the videos need stitching.

So far as I can tell there are a few options that look like they could work - Samsung 360 and vuze being two of them, but I have no experience in this area.

Any pointers or advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Associate
I started looking at these too and the prices vary widely. From around 80 pounds to several hundred (just like normal cameras, I suppose)
I too would like some practical advice from a VR user.

Associate
Is it just video you're looking at? And to what end?

Any camera that claims 4k VR should be viewed with much suspicion. That is a 4k Panorama, so depending on the viewing angle, you're looking at much less than 4k at any one time and as such, a lot of the video really isn't very good quality.

Also depends on budget - If money was not so important, you could look at one of the gopro rigs that uses 6(!) gopros to produce a very high quality 360 video otherwise all the current crop of consumer units are a bit 'meh' for video.

We use VR at work, but only stills and we use;

Ricoh Theta S - Easy to use, but relatively low quality.

Dslr - Needs stitching after

Dslr Stereo rig - needs even more stitching

Matterport camera - Expensive.

A large part of the problem is the stitching camera. It's a fairly intensive process to do it well on still images, so you can imagine how much data a camera is having to churn through to capture and stitch video at 30fps! Whilst mobile phone and other mobile cpu's are now very good, it's still a lot of data.