Best to learn?

Associate
Hi, I'm 17 and I really want to start being able to learn programming and was wondering what you think is best to learn first and perhaps where you learnt it or any tips would be great :)
As of right now I know HTML and CSS.
Any help would be much appreciated.

Soldato
Just out of curiosity how do you go about self teaching yourself HTML and CSS I would love to be able to create web pages seems like a fun hobby.

Soldato
w3schools used be a terrible place to learn anything, full of errors and bad practice. Codeacademy is good for absolute beginners, covering everything from HTML to Python.

Soldato
O I didn't know that :(.

It's worked ok for me :confused: admittedly I've only been into it in the last 7-8 months.

Hopefully it's changed or I've mainly learnt flawed practises. I don't like relying on the "well it works doesn't it" mentality.

Last edited:
Associate
It depends what you want to do - but for general purpose (and as something which will scale into serious projects) - python. (not that javascript will do any harm either ...)

A good first course for Python is the Headfirst Python book which takes you from "hello world" to a simple Android app in around 12 chapters. A chapter a day would give you a good base in under two weeks.

AJK

AJK

Associate
Hi, I'm 17 and I really want to start being able to learn programming and was wondering what you think is best to learn first and perhaps where you learnt it or any tips would be great :)
As of right now I know HTML and CSS.
Any help would be much appreciated.

Could you provide us with any less information?

What are your interests? Why have you decided that you "really want" to learn programming (is there something you want to accomplish, a project that you have an idea for, or are you trying to get into a career in software development)? What do you actually think programming is? (Hint: HTML and CSS are not programming languages.)