1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bionic without admin rights

Discussion in 'Team OcUK Distributed Computing Projects' started by Psycrow, 2 Mar 2009.

  1. Psycrow

    Mobster

    Joined: 16 Jan 2003

    Posts: 4,948

    Location: Kirkcaldy, Scotland

    I don't have admin rights so the normal BIONIC install wont work. I copied my BIONIC directory from home to a USB drive but it hasn't transfered properly.

    Could someone please email me the files needed to get bionic working in a zipped folder please?

    [email protected]

    Many thanks to whoever does it :) This work PC is quite powerful but sits around doing almost nothing 99% of the time so I'd rather put it to good use.
     
  2. Psycrow

    Mobster

    Joined: 16 Jan 2003

    Posts: 4,948

    Location: Kirkcaldy, Scotland

    actually thanks to inbox size limitations - if someone could host and post a link that would be even more heroic.
     
  3. Psycrow

    Mobster

    Joined: 16 Jan 2003

    Posts: 4,948

    Location: Kirkcaldy, Scotland

    and a final update, guy at work with admin rights has zipped up his bionic install and sent it accross but either one of us can get attached to projects thanks to our pesky work internet connection.

    Any ideas for a workaround (proxy??).

    ta
     
  4. Biffa

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 30 Oct 2002

    Posts: 15,632

    Location: Surrey

    Do you have a proxy at work?

    Maybe if you paste the log it will give more to go on.
     
  5. Psycrow

    Mobster

    Joined: 16 Jan 2003

    Posts: 4,948

    Location: Kirkcaldy, Scotland

    02/03/2009 16:32:01||Starting BOINC client version 6.4.6 for windows_intelx86
    02/03/2009 16:32:01||log flags: task, file_xfer, sched_ops
    02/03/2009 16:32:01||Libraries: libcurl/7.19.0 OpenSSL/0.9.8i zlib/1.2.3
    02/03/2009 16:32:01||Data directory: C:\Program Files\BOINC
    02/03/2009 16:32:01||Running under account ithomson
    02/03/2009 16:32:01||Processor: 2 GenuineIntel Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6600 @ 2.40GHz [x86 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 6]
    02/03/2009 16:32:01||Processor features: fpu tsc pae nx sse sse2 mmx
    02/03/2009 16:32:01||OS: Microsoft Windows XP: Professional x86 Editon, Service Pack 2, (05.01.2600.00)
    02/03/2009 16:32:01||Memory: 3.00 GB physical, 5.83 GB virtual
    02/03/2009 16:32:01||Disk: 74.50 GB total, 22.64 GB free
    02/03/2009 16:32:01||Local time is UTC +0 hours
    02/03/2009 16:32:01||Using HTTP proxy 172.16.254.241:80
    02/03/2009 16:32:01||No CUDA devices found
    02/03/2009 16:32:01||No coprocessors
    02/03/2009 16:32:01||No general preferences found - using BOINC defaults
    02/03/2009 16:32:01||Reading preferences override file
    02/03/2009 16:32:01||Preferences limit memory usage when active to 1534.77MB
    02/03/2009 16:32:01||Preferences limit memory usage when idle to 2762.59MB
    02/03/2009 16:32:01||Preferences limit disk usage to 1.00GB
    02/03/2009 16:32:01||This computer is not attached to any projects
    02/03/2009 16:32:01||Visit http://boinc.berkeley.edu for instructions
    02/03/2009 16:32:13||Fetching configuration file from http://climateprediction.net/get_project_config.php
    02/03/2009 17:01:26||Fetching configuration file from http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/get_project_config.php


    Dont know if work uses a proxy, IE doesn't have anything set up in the connection bit of the settings menu.

    ip config has the following (ive put stars since its my work computer, if anything is relevant I can give the full address or tell me to put X address into Y part of bionic.

    H:\>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : *******
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . : ********
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : ******.com
    ******.com

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : **********.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetXtreme 57xx Gigabit Cont
    roller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : *******
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : *****
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.252.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 172.16.*******
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 172.16.*******
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 172.16.*******
    172.16.*******
    172.16.*******
    172.16.*******
    Primary WINS Server . . . . . . . : 172.16.*******
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 02 March 2009 08:54:14
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 10 March 2009 08:54:14
     
  6. Psycrow

    Mobster

    Joined: 16 Jan 2003

    Posts: 4,948

    Location: Kirkcaldy, Scotland

    Another solution may be to bring enough work units to keep the computer happy for a while and upload them at home. I normally take my 80Gb ipod with me to work so I could potentially bring a lot of work units at once.

    Is this still possible? I'm going back to the old days of seti spy here and the command line interface :)
     
  7. Biffa

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 30 Oct 2002

    Posts: 15,632

    Location: Surrey

    Looks like you haven't attached to any projects yet. Have you run Boinc manager and attached to any projects? Its in c:\program files\boinc\boincmgr.exe
     
  8. MGP

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Oct 2004

    Posts: 2,584

    Location: Surrey

    Top tip, if you haven't got admin rights to the work PC, be careful you don't get into hot water installing stuff you shouldn't.

    Getting past the proxy, again if you don't have admin rights, will be a challenge. Depends on the proxy how it authenticates, but normally it will need the boinc program to send an appropriate network user name and password and use a valid port through the proxy. Do you know what the proxy software is?
     
  9. Psycrow

    Mobster

    Joined: 16 Jan 2003

    Posts: 4,948

    Location: Kirkcaldy, Scotland

    Admin rights thing isnt a problem for stuff like bionic, especially if I say I'm running climate models or something noble like that :)

    Biffa I've tried to attach to projects but it just says it cant attach and the messages window just says its fetching the config.

    MGP - not sure about the setup at work, will ask IT tomorrow if I get the chance. Is there any other way to find out, a wee program I could use etc? Any thoughts on using a client run from a pendrive stocked up with work units from home?