1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bit of a noob question regarding UHD

Discussion in 'Home Cinema & Hi-Fi' started by NorthstaNder, Jul 11, 2018.

  1. NorthstaNder

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 25, 2006

    Posts: 2,629

    Location: Ipswich, Suffolk

    Hi,

    Just upgraded from an HD (1080p) set to a 4k UHD set etc and I cannot help but be a bit underwhelmed by the HD picture.

    The 4k picture is corking, but my old HD set has the better 1080p picture. Is this purely down to the picture being upscaled? Anything I can tweak to improve it?

    Thanks in advance.
    Jonathan
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2018
  2. lucid

    Mobster

    Joined: May 29, 2010

    Posts: 4,445

    Location: Cheshire

    Bigger TV at all?
     
  3. NorthstaNder

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 25, 2006

    Posts: 2,629

    Location: Ipswich, Suffolk

    Yes, gone from 43 to 49 so that probably doesn't help either.
     
  4. Armageus

    Don

    Joined: May 19, 2012

    Posts: 8,824

    Location: Spalding, Lincolnshire

    Are you definitely viewing a 1080P source (i.e. not a DVD or SD quality channel)?

    Does the TV have a specific 1080P mode? (e.g. the Panasonic EX700B i just bought calls it "1080P Pixel by 4pixels"), this bypasses any scaling/interpolation and just displays each 1080P pixel as 4 Pixels at 4k (rather than any softness/artifcating caused by antialiased scaling)

    I've gone from a 42" 1080P to 50" 4K, and 1080P still looks great.
     
  5. NorthstaNder

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 25, 2006

    Posts: 2,629

    Location: Ipswich, Suffolk

    I'll have to check. I'm just watching a blu ray and it looks really good. Its the HD TV channels I'm a bit underwhelmed with (BBC, ITV etc)

    I'll have a look at the settings on my virgin media V6 box as well.
     
  6. Kyle009

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 14, 2007

    Posts: 3,986

    Location: Cumbria

    Make sure your V6 box is set to 1080 mode in picture settings otherwise it'll be responsible for upscaling the HD/SD content and the scaler in the v6 box will be a lot worse than the one in your TV.
     
  7. NorthstaNder

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 25, 2006

    Posts: 2,629

    Location: Ipswich, Suffolk

    So if I set the V6 box to output in 1080p will the TV then upscale that to 2160?
     
  8. xs2man

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 21, 2008

    Posts: 4,489

    That's pretty much how it works. You decide what part of the signal chain likely has the better upscaler, and set all other devices to pass through to let that device do its thing. It may not be your TV that has the best results from upscaling (it may be your amp for example), but it usually is the TV to be fair.
     
  9. NorthstaNder

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 25, 2006

    Posts: 2,629

    Location: Ipswich, Suffolk

    Ok thank you. I'm sure I tried setting the V6 to 1080p and the TV then reverted to 1080p as well.
    There must a setting I'm missing somewhere.
    TV is a.Sony KD49XE8004
     
  10. billysielu

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Aug 9, 2009

    Posts: 9,782

    Location: Oxfordshire

    following
     
  11. NorthstaNder

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 25, 2006

    Posts: 2,629

    Location: Ipswich, Suffolk

    Am I right in thinking...

    Set V6 box to 2160p and it will do the upscaling?

    Set V6 to 1080p and the TV will upscale to 2160p bit still report the resolution as 1080p when the info button is pressed?
     
  12. Armageus

    Don

    Joined: May 19, 2012

    Posts: 8,824

    Location: Spalding, Lincolnshire

    Yep
     
  13. NorthstaNder

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 25, 2006

    Posts: 2,629

    Location: Ipswich, Suffolk

    And the second option is the way to go?
     
  14. VincentHanna

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 30, 2013

    Posts: 14,758

    Depends on the TV, but I'd trust my £2400 OLED to have better upscaling than a cheap virgin media box.
     
  15. NorthstaNder

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 25, 2006

    Posts: 2,629

    Location: Ipswich, Suffolk

    Sony KD49XE8004. But only £645 :)
     
  16. Armageus

    Don

    Joined: May 19, 2012

    Posts: 8,824

    Location: Spalding, Lincolnshire

    Should definitely be better, and hopefully there will be options for either an image processed scaling (X-Reality or Reality Creation on Sony I think?), and a "direct"/"pure" 1->4 pixel mode (where each pixel is doubled both directions, with no software processing).

    On my Panasonic I've not noticed any issue leaving the software scaling turned on (despite "direct" scaling normally being a "sharper" picture), generally it will come down to personal preference and different source material.
     
  17. NorthstaNder

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 25, 2006

    Posts: 2,629

    Location: Ipswich, Suffolk

    I've found the option I needed on the V6 box. Basically I selected every resolution which means the V6 will let the TV do the scaling so illI see how that looks
     
  18. NorthstaNder

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 25, 2006

    Posts: 2,629

    Location: Ipswich, Suffolk

    5 mins later and it already looks better!

    Thanks all for pointing me in the right direction
     
  19. Bigpig

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 12, 2006

    Posts: 4,683

    Location: Portadown

    If am not mistaken Sony TVs have the best upscalers.