Black screen and system freezing

Associate
Hi everybody.

Hope this is a suitable question for this forum.

So I have just finished my first build. I am totally new to PC building and maintenance, having come from Mac and console. I will give a component list before outlying my problem.

AMD 2700x
Asus strix x470-f mobo
2x8GB G.Skill 3200 ram
Asus strix GTX 1080 TI OC 11GB
Thermaltake 280mm TT premium AIO
Corsair RM650X
Samsung Evo 970 500GB m.2 (sys+programs)
Samsung Evo 860 500GB SSD (steam etc)
Seagate Barracuda 2TB HHD (music)
Seagate Barracuda 4TB HHD (films etc)
LG WH14NS40 Blu-ray optical drive.
Thermaltake core x31 RGB case
Dell S2716DG
Windows 10 home edition

Ok. That's that out of the way.
So I did my build and it all went pretty smoothly having watched hours of YouTube videos and read so many forums.
Went to post to bios and got a horrible sound but it did post and let me into bios after about a minute. Set up the basics and installed Windows. Updated things, installed all the drivers, downloaded AMD chipset update etc.
Restarted machine, still getting horrible sound, and a beep type sound for approximately a minute before being able to enter bios. Anyway, having poked about and done some trouble shooting turns out one of the HDD's was DOA..... 2TB HDD removed, clean post, yay, so continue with installation of things.
And then black screen. System still running, fans going etc, but no response from mouse or keyboard. Can't turn off or reset system from front panel, in fact, the only way to restart system is to switch off at the PSU.
I should mention, as I'm new to this, the only changes I have made to the bios was to turn CPU FAN warning off as I'm using the AIO and case fans are running through a controller, turned the case fans up a fraction and I set ram speed to 3200.