BT Infinity & FTTx Discussion

Soldato
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
24,850
I would avoid a G.fast service estimated at 108Mbps - that's right on the edge of service and the upload is likely to be slower than FTTC. If you can get G.fast then you can get the full sync rate from FTTC.
 

APM

APM

Associate
Joined
9 Nov 2011
Posts
1,457
Location
Wales
Yes it's offering the on demand and does tell me G.Fast is available.

How can I discover when I'll be able to get the full fibre though?
 

APM

APM

Associate
Joined
9 Nov 2011
Posts
1,457
Location
Wales
It says 2024 but the amount of work that has been done locally to me this year would suggest it's in advance of that.
 
Soldato
Joined
9 Mar 2003
Posts
10,775
Yup, I wouldn’t put too much stock into what’s been published. We’ve never been on the list and had FTTP retrofitted at the beginning of the year.

It will happen when it happens, the best thing you can do is just sign up to the email and they will tell you when your area goes live.
 
Soldato
Joined
24 Sep 2015
Posts
3,175
It's worth checking the Openreach fibre checker rather than relying on them emailing you. I got an email Monday morning saying that FTTP was 'now available' at my address even though I had it install in June 2020.
 
Caporegime
Joined
8 Nov 2008
Posts
28,388
A few days ago my connection speed improved noticeably to a large extent. The last booked 'engineer visit' must have been Openreach working on the exchanges down along our road,
and although we received a notification saying that the problem had been addressed, it took several days before anything was evident.

I've just done a Speedtest run: ping 7; download 67.79; upload 18.60.

So, not hitting the supposed guaranteed minimum of 74 but it's certainly miles better.
 

APM

APM

Associate
Joined
9 Nov 2011
Posts
1,457
Location
Wales
Thank you chaps, I had an email from BT offering me a decent re-contract for 24 months on my current 78Mbps package which I didn't want to accept if I could have had FTTP inside the next few months or so.

I guess I'll be stuck with BT for FTTP when it comes along so maybe that's when they'll knock me for a few quids.
 
Soldato
Joined
24 Sep 2015
Posts
3,175
Even if FTTP comes along during your contract period BT will upgrade you without any problems. Switching away to another ISP whilst in contract is a different matter though.
 
Soldato
Joined
13 Jun 2009
Posts
6,828
Even if FTTP comes along during your contract period BT will upgrade you without any problems. Switching away to another ISP whilst in contract is a different matter though.
What ISPs use Openreach's FTTP network and which ones don't? Are there any differences in service between the two types of network?
 
Soldato
Joined
24 Sep 2015
Posts
3,175
What ISPs use Openreach's FTTP network and which ones don't? Are there any differences in service between the two types of network?

Openreach FTTP providers are listed here. However, there's some providers that sell both Openreach FTTP and an alt net FTTP network. Zen for example sell Openreach & City Fibre FTTP. The changes of more than one FTTP service being available at your house is slim though.

The main difference is that alt net providers tend to have symmetric products. So my BT FTTP is 900Mbps down, 100Mbps up - it's asymmetric. City Fibre do a 1000Mbps down, 1000Mbps up prouduct - it's symmetric.

If I had the choice I'd go with a symmetric product as the extra upstream would be very welcome but I'm very far from unhappy with my BT FTTP.
 
Soldato
Joined
13 Jun 2009
Posts
6,828
I see. Symmetric definitely would be better for me as I'd want fast upload to sync with off-site backups. Interesting that providers can use multiple different physical networks though.
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
24,850
When (Openreach) FTTP gets here I'll be taking the 900Mbps product just to get the 100Mbps upload, but I'd pick 200Mbps symmetric if it was an option.
 
Soldato
Joined
13 Jun 2009
Posts
6,828
I'm the same although having 900 Mbps download is pretty useful!
I bet most of the time you'd be limited by the server's speed with 900 Mb/s download. I use LANCache to cache game downloads and even on gigabit LAN most of the time they only max out at 20-40 MB/s!
 
Soldato
Joined
9 Mar 2003
Posts
10,775
Check your CPU usage, they are decompressing at the same time as downloading and that can be the bottleneck sometimes.
 
Caporegime
Joined
20 Sep 2006
Posts
28,350
I bet most of the time you'd be limited by the server's speed with 900 Mb/s download. I use LANCache to cache game downloads and even on gigabit LAN most of the time they only max out at 20-40 MB/s!
Getting pretty much max speed on 90% of the stuff I download.
 
Top Bottom