BT Infinity (smart hub) gaming issues...

Associate
Hi guys,

Im having issues with my BT infinity (smart hub) connection when it comes to gaming. I have noticed that when I use the internet it can be sluggish from time to time and using speedtests I have noticed that the speed of my download fluctuates a lot, it constantly moves up and down but averages out at a decent speed, my uploads however are fine, solid 9mb/s.

I am new to the service and can only assume the problems im getting are from them. Basically im trying to play 'For Honor' which uses a sort of peer-to-peer system to work online. I basically get kicked from everything in short and others get kicked from me, im yet to see another person online as a result after sinking hours into the game. Ive forwarded ports, altered firewalls and anti-virus and the game states ive got good connection status but it still doesn;t want to work.

Now that in itself could be just the games issue... However.

I am trying to also play 'Overwatch' which I did at my previous two addresses with no issue, one being virgin and the other being sky. Now all of a sudden when I try and play overwatch I get severe warping issues, as in I can run forward for a few seconds and then ill be warped back and this happens continuously, its unplayable.

Strangely this is a new development and hasn't always happened. I have had BT Infinity for just over a month now so im curious as to what I can to do solve the issue before I start phoning them.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

Associate
OP
Ah
WiFi?
Wired?
Powerline?

Ah good question!

I have the hub connected to a BT power line which is then connected to my Pc. I couldn't work out how to get Internet in the attic without drilling holes so i went with that. I chose BT sockets as I figured they would be most compatible.

Soldato
Brand will hardly affect it, it's still a bog standard ethernet connection so it won't do anything with compatibility.