Building first PC - storage advice?

Associate
Hello, I am building my first PC with the main purpose of using it for 3D Animation (modelling, rigging, animation and a bit of rendering), and a secondary purpose of some gaming and am looking at which components will fit me best. I'm very new to this so have been doing some research and for my storage I am thinking of an HDD for files I'm not currently using (animation files I've completed/moved on from etc and any other general files), a NVMe for current files and programs such as Maya, Blender, Adobe programs and games, and finally another drive for my OS (Windows) as i've heard it is good to have this on a separate drive. I would really appreciate any thoughts on this and if this sounds good or not - again I'm just learning so I thank you for any input. My budget isn't too big, probably around £1500-£1750 for all the main components, but I believe the principle will probably be the same. Any advice on suggested storage size of each would be great too:) Thanks in advance!

Soldato
Seeing as I do 3D etc (work) and a bit of gaming I think I can answer this :)
This is my setup to give you an idea of how I've got it set up. It does come in a fair bit more than your budget but you likely don't need it exactly the same so you can adjust accordingly.

Drive 1 - 2TB pcie gen 4 nvme - OS and programs - keep separate from the rest to 'keep it clean' - originally planned for 1TB drives but found 2x 2TB drives at a price I couldn't say no to.
Drive 2 - 2TB pcie gen 4 nvme - Scratch disk (you may need to configure the software to use the second drive but iirc everything you mentioned uses one)
Drive 3 & 4 - 2x 1TB sata SSD's (mirrored by storage spaces) - Documents/Active Projects. I move my user folders (my docs, desktop etc) to this drive, it can easily be 'relinked' if I reinstall.