Buying my first laptop

Soldato
The time has come that I’ve decided I need my own laptop and so we are going looking this weekend and I was hoping you might be able to offer some handy hints on what to look for or stay away from

I’m not someone who spends hours on a laptop. It needs to do a few simple tasks so it doesn’t need to be all singing all dancing. I want to be able to log into my email and get a full webpage rather than a mobile version. I want to be able to view my email and banking safely and I want to be able to keep a few photographs and files on it.

Any suggestions on an antivirus would be good as well please. I’m a complete novice. I have a work laptop but obviously the company have access to that so it’s time to get my own.

All help gratefully received as I’m a complete novice.
Thanks

Caporegime
Honestly, if all you need is something to perform basic “small office” tasks rather than gaming, they are all much of a muchness.

Just get whatever you like the look of that is in budget, and comes with the best warranty and support package out of your shortlist. Personally I’d go with a bigger brand name like Dell, HP, Lenovo, because support (both official and discussion across the internet) will likely be better, but it’s not a huge concern.

As for AV, I personally don’t see the need to run more than the baked-in Microsoft Security these days, it’s virus/malware engine is just as good as the competition in terms of discovery and remediation of malware and attacks.

Soldato
It largely depends on budget. For £300 they're all pretty much the same with very low end components. Spend a bit more you get a much better experience. The Dell Inspiron range is pretty good.

Soldato
OP
Thank you. It’s doubtful I would spend anymore than £300. It doesn’t need to be the fastest thing in the world and I wouldn’t benefit from anything too flash.

Soldato