1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

can the psu in an XPS 420 be replaced with gaming ones?

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by ExoMale, May 28, 2018.

  1. ExoMale

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 9, 2016

    Posts: 2,842

    Location: Gloucestershire

    not asking for myself, my mums partner owns said machine which he has had for years and im just checking it out to see if i could improve it for him as he wont let me build him a new one lol and also hes saying its getting warm.

    anyways i know about dell and their propriety setups, but equally i know some dells can be upgraded and wondered if the xps was one of them? was going to suggest my evga as i havent sold it and its just boxed doing nothing as the tower uses atx rather than those that use the longer units, but obviously this isnt my computer to do as please.

    core2quad viv q6600
    4gb ram
    ati 2600 xt
    wifi card
    sound card
    couple hdd's
    optical

    is all it consists off, but i want to make it faster as he says its slow which is expected if you excluding whatever on drives, so im looking up ram to max it at 8, going to put my GT610 in it maybe to see how that does as hes a train fanatic, so model railway building in shed, designs on computer, he likes train simulator.


    at the same time i have tried to convince him to give it me if i sort him better lol.
     
  2. lude1962

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 27, 2014

    Posts: 2,152

    Intel Core2 Duo E8400 @ 3.00GHz
    less cores but faster single thread performance
    worth a try they're dead cheap
     
  3. TheVoice

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 15, 2005

    Posts: 19,992

    Location: Glasgow

    Should do, the XPS 420 uses a BTX motherboard but an ATX PSU will be compatible.
     
  4. Acme

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 29, 2011

    Posts: 28,024

    Location: Acme's chair

    Read. :p
     
  5. ExoMale

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 9, 2016

    Posts: 2,842

    Location: Gloucestershire

    thanks for replies.

    it has a q6600 quad, so dont know where the e8400 suggestion came from lol, but thanks.


    i dont know what he is going to do with it at the moment as its a shared pc with my mum, so id rather not just change things like that, but its good to know that something off the shelf should work for future reference or run in to any troubles, but as my GT610 seemed to have improved things a little for his train stuff over than 2600xt, i probably wont upggrade the gpu higher like i was thinking hence the psu question.
     
  6. lude1962

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 27, 2014

    Posts: 2,152

    it has a q6600 quad, so dont know where the e8400 suggestion came from lol, but thanks.

    but i want to make it faster as he says its slow

    hence e8400 suggestion