1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can you improve on this spec?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Shrapnel, 5 Jun 2006.

  1. Shrapnel

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 724

    Location: Southampton

    Hi,

    I'm building this spec on a budget. I like playing games but I don't want to pay through the nose for it. I'll be using all the other components (including RAM) from my current system.

    Can you pay special attention to the power suplly because I've no idea about them.

    Mobo: Asus A8N-SLI SE nForce4 SLI MB-101-AS : £64.92
    CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Venice CP-147-AM OEM : £96.29
    Cooler: Zalman CNPS 9500 - LED Aero Flower HS-015-2A : £32.84 **WIll this be a bit heavy if I take my PC to LANs.
    GFX BFG 3DFuszion 7600 GT 256Mb GX-025-BG : £117.44 **Is this twin monitor output?
    PSU Antec True Power 430W CA-030-AN : £51.64 **Is this ok?
    P+P : £12 ish, or how ever much it is.

    Total = Approx £375.13

    From my current system I'll be using 2 x 512MB 3200 DDR matched pair RAM
    2 hard drives (normal IDE, not SATA)
    DVD writer IDE.


    Any comments / suggestions (without increasing the price)?


    I'm currently using a 2.4Gig P4 with 9600XT in it. Will I see much of an improvement for the money?

    Thanks for looking.
     
  2. ExRayTed

    Underboss

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,768

    Location: Surrey

    Not bad spec..

    Point 1 - No that cooler will not make your PC too heavy :D

    Point 2 - yes it supports dual monitors with 2 DVI ports.But that isn't the question that needs answering...the question you should be asking is 'Why haven't I chosen the superb Connect3D ATI Radeon X1800 XT 256MB GDDR3 AVIVO TV-Out/Dual DVI (PCI-Express) - Retail (GX-044-CO) - £164.44 Incl VAT :D instead.

    Point 3 - Not bad but I would prefer the Seasonic 430Watt Here instead.Had a few problems with Antec but none with Seasonic..superb build quality and reliability.

    For gaming you will see a big improvement providing you have 1gb of good ram or more to go with it.Especially if you go with the 1800XT ;) (even with the 7600 you will see a big improvement tbh)

    Good luck in your build whatever you choose :D

    I know I've increased the price a bit but you won't be sorry :D You could go down a CPU speed to make it more bearable though without affecting game performance at all.
     
    Last edited: 5 Jun 2006
  3. Logan09

    Hitman

    Joined: 20 Oct 2004

    Posts: 719

    Location: Rainford, nr St Helens

    Have to agree with what ExRayTed said. The Seasonic PSU's have a very good reputation and for the money the Connect3D X1800XT is great value. You could always save some money by getting a cheaper CPU cooler like the Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 (£17.57 inc. VAT) and put that toward the X1800XT.
     
    Last edited: 5 Jun 2006
  4. Shrapnel

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 724

    Location: Southampton

    Thanks for the input guys!

    I'll defo be chaning the spec over. I mentioned about the weight of the cooler because I think it's over what is supported for ZIF sockets.

    Would that graphics card be ok for the Mobo that I'm planning on getting? Won't I need CrossFire (not SLI) for ATI cards? Is that x1800 XT due monitor too?

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: 5 Jun 2006
  5. Logan09

    Hitman

    Joined: 20 Oct 2004

    Posts: 719

    Location: Rainford, nr St Helens

    If you're planning on going for a dual-graphics card setup in the future then yes you'd need a crossfire board like the Asus A8R-MVP. The X1800XT has dual monitor output.

    As for ZIF sockets - ?!? What are they?
     
  6. kmistry

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 10 Apr 2006

    Posts: 1,084

    Location: Leicester

    Yeah the card should work a treat, if you aren't ever going to go crossfire, then it really shouldn't matter.... Also if you do want a crossfire mobo then there is the Asus A8R-MVP Crossfire whoch is £70 in VAT, only £6 extra than the one you chose and as far as i know, it should be kool :)
     
  7. Shrapnel

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 724

    Location: Southampton

    Cheers guys!

    ZIF = Zero Insertion Force (It's just the oldSkool name for CPU socket).
     
  8. Socaddict

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Feb 2006

    Posts: 1,199

    Location: London

    If you're thinking about sticking to a single card, maybe look at the Asus nForce 4 Ultra board, Its a little cheaper and has only the one PCI-E x16 socket. But the savings should give you a little more to put towards the graphics card.
     
  9. Logan09

    Hitman

    Joined: 20 Oct 2004

    Posts: 719

    Location: Rainford, nr St Helens

    Ah, I see now. The Zalman will be fine. It's not that heavy. Trust me, I used to have an Asus Star Ice and that was heavy! I was worrie about it bending the mobo, never mind the CPU socket.
     
  10. semi-pro waster

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 25,822

    Location: Glasgow

    I'd probably suggest something like this, ignore the fact that the motherboard is SLi but the graphics card is ATI, you would need a PSU that offered 500w+ to comfortably go for a dual card system. The motherboard is chosen because it is passively cooled and the graphics card is unlikely to need an additional card with it as it is a very good card on its own. The CPU has 1mb L2 cache and is faster than the 3500 Venice unsurpisingly and the cooler is pretty good as well.

    CP-150-AM AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego 90nm (Socket 939) - OEM (CP-150-AM)
    £104.95 £104.95
    FG-000-AR Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro CPU Cooler (Socket 754/939/940) (FG-000-AR)
    £14.95 £14.95
    MB-040-GI Gigabyte K8N SLi nForce4 SLi (Socket 939) PCI-Express Motherboard (MB-040-GI)
    £49.95 £49.95
    CA-003-AK Akasa Ultra Quiet 460W Paxpower Active PFC ATX2.0 PSU - Black Nickel (CA-003-AK)
    £43.95 £43.95
    GX-044-CO Connect3D ATI Radeon X1800 XT 256MB GDDR3 AVIVO TV-Out/Dual DVI (PCI-Express) - Retail (GX-044-CO)
    £139.95 £139.95
    Subtotal £353.75
    VAT £61.91
    Total £415.66
     
  11. Topgun

    Hitman

    Joined: 27 Oct 2002

    Posts: 952

    Is your P4 2.4 already overclocked? Most of the 800mhz FSB ones can go beyond 3.4ghz on air. I had a 2.4C at 3.4ghz with just a silent zalman cooler on the same Abit IC7 as yours! You could just OC it and get an new or used AGP card.
     
    Last edited: 5 Jun 2006
  12. Shrapnel

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 724

    Location: Southampton

    Thanks guys.

    My CPu was a cack clocker! It wasn't stable at 2.8 on air :(
     
  13. Topgun

    Hitman

    Joined: 27 Oct 2002

    Posts: 952

    weak dude. I've never heard of a such a 2.4C! you sure you locked the pci/agp bus at 33/66? You will need to use the RAM bus divider because your ram is probably only good upto 210mhz or so. Even at just 2.8ghz you will have your ram running at 233mhz with the divder in the 1:1 position. Try upping the voltage to around 1.65v to get it more stable.

    I apologise if you've done all this as it does sound a bit patronising if you are a veteran.
     
  14. Shrapnel

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 724

    Location: Southampton

    All valid points mate, all that I've tried :(

    Never been stable in prime 95. But, I am using the stock P4 cooler. Makes me want to try it again...


    Thanks for all the input peeps. Time to go shopping.
     
  15. Topgun

    Hitman

    Joined: 27 Oct 2002

    Posts: 952

    It's probably not the cooler holding you back. I say wait for conroe.
     
  16. Shrapnel

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 724

    Location: Southampton

    I've got to get it soon mate (or I'll waste the cash). Just checked - my core isn't stable at 2.88 :( Failed prime 95 twice after about half an hour then rebooted it's self.


    Anyway, just seen that the 3700+ core is availale on 'This Week Only' for £117.44 INC Vat !! That's about £8 saving which will cover the P+P! Sweet!

    -Ash-