Career in 1st Line support!

Associate
Hello,

I'm hoping if someone can help me with this obstacle I've encountered.
Anyway, I'm very eager to get into a career with IT as I'm passionate about it and I enjoy it. The career I want to take is 1st line support, I have all experience at the moment but I've been told by an IT Recruitment agency that I'm being held back by not having COMPtia and COMPtia network and Windows 7 certificates. To get into this career pretty much every job requires these and it's the things I don't have.
Anyway they are trying to sell me an online course which is like £395. Is it a bit of a scam? Is there anyway to get these? Any guidance will help me :)

Stevan

Associate
OP
Everything I know about computers is self-taught from age of 14 but my degree is in forensic science. Which I am not passionate about. When I was 16 and 18, I did not have a clue what I wanted to do. It's not until finishing university it's made me realise what I enjoyed the most and it's always been in front of me. When I learn about computers it just sticks with me naturally and once I start reading about it I don't stop.
So yeah I have no education within IT, just own experience. So I feel maybe this course will help me.

I just want to get my foot through the door because once I know I'm in, I'm confident that I will go a very long way. I'm only 22 and very eager to begin my career.

EDIT: I haven't properly applied for any IT jobs just yet but every time I look at the job specification it always mentions these certifications and no doubt I feel like I'm being held back for sure.

Last edited:
Associate
OP
Wow! Thank you for all the responses. This is why I always come to these forums when I have an issue regarding IT, the support people give is unbelievable. Obviously I have a lot of mixed opinions but every each one of you has helped me to decide what to do.