Cheapest rig for cross fired 5870's

Associate
OP
Don't you ever sleep?

Or are you still Bitcoin mining?

My sleep pattern is rubbish, I have trouble sleeping sometimes! I found out these cards give excellent £/BC rate, better than most other cards which makes it within the realms of decent profitability if I get them quickly.

Associate
OP
http://bitminer.info/ (figures quite under what can be achieved with some basic OC afaik)

I have a solo 5770 at the moment which works at a rate of 170mhash, overclocked this can go to 190mhash but I'm not too good at OCing and it's unstable but with some skill I'm sure you could get it to 200mhash.

I've heard that a 5870 can do 400mhash/s, 2 of them = 800 mhash/s.

Check out here:

http://bitcoinx.com/profit/

Electricity wise you're looking at £1.50-£2 a day. A 5870 can do ฿0.56 a day, 2 of them + OCing = ~฿1.20 a day.

BC is currently worth ~$20 each, (https://mtgox.com/trade/buy), I'm also gambling a bit that the value is going to increase as well, I'm trying to gain BC for medium term investment (~4 months or so).

So at $20 each you are earning ~$24 a day, minus $4 a day in elec = ~$20 clear profit. Cards are ~$400 total for 2, which means in 20 days they pay for themselves (and they have obvious resale value).

Associate
OP
Dual 6990s should be able to pull B2.50-3 a day which is phenomenal, ~$50 a day at current rates. It's just going to take ~50 days to pay them off which is too long a time frame for me for that cost. Also, they are in short stock in a lot of places (especially USA apparently) for the specific reason of bitcoin mining.

Associate
OP
I admit my knowledge here is a bit hazy but as far as I know it's double SHA256 hashing a block header as part of a process of block generation.