1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cloning a system disk?

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by stockhausen, Oct 9, 2019.

  1. stockhausen

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 30, 2006

    Posts: 9,997

    Can anyone suggest some (free) software that would allow me to create an exact copy of a bootable 250GB SSD (containing Windows 7) onto a 500 GB SSD?

    I would anticipate that there is a Linux tool to do this? Acronis appears not to work in this way, it seems to assume a bootable target disk.

    Anyone tried either Paragon, EaseUS or AEOMI?
     
  2. HecFam

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 18, 2011

    Posts: 4,171

    Location: London

    Pretty sure i've done similar in the past with Macrium Reflect. Allows you to clone a disk and expand an existing partition to reclaim the space on the new drive.

    Not sure if there is a linux tool, but it does allow you to create a bootable WINPE USB that has all the tools on there.
     
  3. varkanoid

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 31, 2007

    Posts: 8,990

    Location: The TARDIS, Wakefield, UK

    Yep Macrium free simple and effective.
     
  4. b00merang69

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 27, 2019

    Posts: 615

    AOMEI Backupper or/and AOMEI Partition Assistant (Free and Pro versions)

    https://www.ubackup.com/


    I had issues in past getting some free and paid for software to copy exactly, either there would be a missing partition or if it was a bigger SSD migration it would not add the extra space.

    The above works for me and in case you are unaware a proper UEFI install had 4 partitions not 3 partitions like you can you see in Windows Disk Management and a few days ago it helped someone here back up an Encrypted drive he could not get some others to work with.


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2019
  5. Mujja

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 7, 2003

    Posts: 2,677

    Location: Offline

    Clonezilla, there's a bootable USB version. Used it recently, free, quick and easy.
     
  6. The1nonly1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 24, 2009

    Posts: 1,485

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    Used both Macrium reflect and Clonezilla in the past.
     
  7. R3X

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 9, 2013

    Posts: 2,363

    Always verify the image before and after installing the image, had a right nightmare with reflect recently on a PC which cloned fine and when I went to reload the image it all worked fine but once booting back into windows it was slow as a snail. Clearly the image was not done successfully but I skipped the verify of image and its important to do a verify upon image creation and then cloning afterwards.

    You could probably get away with it most of the times but for the extra few minutes, safer to be sorry had to reload windows and all software from scratch which is always time consuming and a chore as we know, not worth wasting half a day again.

    Reflect is still my fav since its worked 9/10 for me even with out verification, it also has a boot repair option to repair the boot configuration corrupt data and also a resizing ability and its free and a USB boot option.

    I don't bother with Windows imaging and Windows restore or ability to repair itself it does not always work and imo never has fully, shame Microsoft don't just buy Acronis or Reflect and import it part of Windows tech.
     
  8. Disco_P

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 30, 2013

    Posts: 5,165

    Location: GPS signal not found. (11)

    I've used acronis, aomei, easeus, macrium and veeam for daily image backups of my os over the years.

    All of them will do what you ask. Wouldn't recommend Aomei or easeus as they had a few bugs, the former also removed features in an update. Acronis required paying for features I wanted but will be fine for cloning, macrium was good for cloning, fiddly for daily backups.

    I currently use veeam which I am very pleased with though it does like to use enterprise language but I found it easier than macrium.

    Windows backup and restore is the reason I started on this quest; on restoring it labelled the boot, recovery and reserve partitions as volumes c through e and left the c drive unlabelled causing no boot and a very annoying recovery process of relabling them in CMD.
     
  9. Rroff

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 13, 2006

    Posts: 64,641

    Probably not worth buying Acronis if it is a one off but otherwise I'd recommend buying it - after that I tend to use Macrium if I don't have my Acronis media with me.

    I've never got the built in Windows 10 one to work - no matter what I do it gets to around 75% then complains about something - often a generic error code that means nothing - despite multiple attempts to clean up things like DISM, etc. which it usually suggests as a solution.
     
  10. b00merang69

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 27, 2019

    Posts: 615

    Not sure if still valid or latest build but if you have a WD disk in your system you can install a version of Acronis for free.


    "Acronis True Image WD Edition

    Installation notes:
    You need at least one Western Digital hard drive attached in your system to be able to install and run the product."
     
  11. R3X

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 9, 2013

    Posts: 2,363


    Yeah had similar errors towards the end also and Its not just me I had it on 2 different systems one brand new with an a brand new external hdd. I just stopped wasting time with Windows recovery options, its good when it works but its never been reliable or trust worthy. Wish MS would just buy norton ghost, reflect or acronis but don't see it happening.
     
  12. willhub

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 3, 2006

    Posts: 21,802

    Location: MediaCityUK

    Think this sort of thing is what I need shortly.

    256GB NVME swap with an NVME 1TB.

    Close disk to HDD, reapply image to 1TB.
     
  13. stockhausen

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 30, 2006

    Posts: 9,997

    I have used various versions of Acronis True Image Backup on either CDs or on a memory stick. Personally I have never had a problem using them although I have never used the "incremental" backup feature which is reported as being unreliable.

    Acronis 2017 works with M.2 NVME SSDs, I don't know whether earlier versions will?
     
  14. MassiveJim

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 22, 2014

    Posts: 1,892

    macrium reflect gets pretty much daily use in our shop.

    it will clone to a smaller drive as well if there is enough free space
     
  15. loltim

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 14,580

    Location: Queenstown, NZ

    veeam
     
  16. stockhausen

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 30, 2006

    Posts: 9,997

    Does your cryptic suggestion satisfy all (or in fact any) of the requirements of the OP?
     
  17. mrk

    Man of Terrible Jokes

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 84,744

    Location: South Coast

    Windows has disk cloning built in. You use backup & restore to create a system image, the image is saved as a .VHD image which can then be restored to another disk if you boot using a Windows bootable recovery stick/disc. Have used it before, works well.
     
  18. loltim

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 14,580

    Location: Queenstown, NZ

    Not fully sure what you mean. Veeam is free isn't it? (the endpoint version). I've always used it to backup a whole HDD and restore to a new HDD.