complete linux novice

Soldato
I've just bought a thinkpad laptop, and I've always fancied having a go at linux just for interests sake, and I hear thinkpads are well supported linux wise.

I was wondering if there are any good idiots guides to linux, and how to choose which flavour to install?

thanks for any advice

Man of Honour
Man of Honour
Second vote for Ubuntu, just put it on mine as a second boot option a few days ago. It automatically resizes your Windows partition to fit in

Good guides for setup are in PCW magazine this month and last month, plus the guys in this part of the forum are fantasically patient and helpful. Check out any of my threads in here as I'm just getting started myself.

Last edited:
Associate
another vote for ubuntu, suse is also very good for the n00b but a lot of people on this forum use ubuntu so will probably be better suited to helping you.

Soldato
OP
thanks. Looks like i'll download ubuntu then and have a go with that. Whats the difference between the dvd and cd releases you can download? as the cd seems to be only 700megs, and the dvd 2.8gigs, yet i can't see more than one cd image to be downloaded

Soldato
One of the aims of Ubuntu has always been to fit a fully working system onto a single CD, there is nothing else to download :D
With regards to a newbie friendly system, you might consider downloading either the DVD or the 3CD release of Mandriva- This has a lot more apps available by default and has well done GUIs for configuring most stuff.

Cheers

-Leezer-

Associate
I'm pretty sure the DVD has more packages by default, also the DVD acts as both a Live CD and Install CD so if you burn the DVD, then you should be able to try Ubuntu out before installing it to check for many major incompatibilities (if any). I'd recommend the DVD for this purpose alone.