Computer problem

Soldato
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
4,804
Got a strange problem with the computer which is happend twice now.

i'm working away on the coputer when all of sudden I get the blue screen (Not on long enough to write down the error) after a few secconds it restarts the computer only the PC even fails to POST.

Now i've worked out the reason it fails to post is because i've got 4 gig of ram.
when I first upgraded to 4 gig it also failed to post turned out I had to updated the BIOS and then the 4 gig was accepted.

So based on that i've found that for some reason when i'm getting these blue screens and the computer restarts the BIOS is getting reset to the factory defaults.

Any ideas what could be causing this? is the battery on the motherboard low? or could something else cause this?

Mobo is about 2-3 years old.
 
Associate
Joined
7 Mar 2007
Posts
173
could you post your pc spec.

to disable reboot on error. right click My Computer > properties > Advanced > Start up and Recovery > under System failure, uncheck Automatically Restart.

could be ram so run a memtest first.
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
4,804
Spec is:
PSU - Corsair HX 520W ATX2.2 SLI Compliant PSU
CPU - Intex Core 2 DUO E6600 2.40GHz
MOBO - Asus P5N-E Sli
RAM- 4 x GeIL 1GB PC6400C4
Graphics - Gainward BLISS 8800 GTS

At the moment got it back up and running on 2gig of ram.
Can't seem to flash the BISO at the mo as going the the Built in Flash system in the BIOS just hangs for some reason now.

Will run some stress tests on the mem etc see if I can make it fall over again on 2 gig.
 
Associate
Joined
22 Mar 2008
Posts
1,607
with 4 sticks try raising NB/MCH volts a couple of notches to find stability. Could be the cause :)
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
4,804
Will have a look but i've absolutely no idea about changing voltages of the mem etc in the BIOS.

But this isent a new build, the computers been running fine since I built it nearly 3 years ago. All this started happening last wednesday after coming back from my holls.

I Managed to sort it out the first time on friday by flashing the bios again. has been running for a few hours friday and its been on all day today.
Chances are it might be overheating as I was doing a few things at once when it blue screened.
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
4,804
think this is now a memory problem, took out the two I did before and ran a mem test, Showed no probs at all. Then added one of the ones I removed ran the test again and it showed a hardware fault.

removed the supposedly faulty one and added in the other one I removed, with this I couldn't even get as far as the mem test without the boot failing.

Going to order two new ones.

My current working ones are:
GeIL 2GB (2x1GB) DDR2 PC2-6400C4 800MHz Ultra Low Latency Dual Channel (GX22GB6400UDC)

but these are out of stock.
will there be any issues if I stick in a pair of these along side my working GeIL's
OCZ Platinum Revision 2 XTC 2GB (2x1GB) PC2-6400C4 Dual Channel Series (OCZ2P800R22GK)

?
 
Associate
Joined
19 Dec 2008
Posts
663
You could try running memtest on each stick to isolate the bad one, or up the voltages in the BIOS (if you flashed it, it could be automatically setting the voltages too low now), try 2.1v for DDR2
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
4,804
i'm pretty sure theres issues with the two i've taken out, both show isues when running the Windows 7 mem test. With them both removed the mem test completes fine.
 
Soldato
Joined
30 Sep 2003
Posts
10,916
Location
London
i'm pretty sure theres issues with the two i've taken out, both show isues when running the Windows 7 mem test. With them both removed the mem test completes fine.

Have you tried memtesting the sticks you think are dodgy on their own? As if it's only failing Memtest when you have all four sticks in, the issue is probably that the mobo needs more northbridge voltage to be stable with four sticks.
 
Associate
Joined
22 Mar 2008
Posts
1,607
i'm pretty sure theres issues with the two i've taken out, both show isues when running the Windows 7 mem test. With them both removed the mem test completes fine.

Try memtest86+, it's better than the windows one :) It'll point out errors on bad sticks
 
Top Bottom