Cookie Opt in

Associate
Sorry if already discussed but couldn't see a thread on this.

Pretty soon the UK law is changing meaning all websites that store cookies on users computers need to get the users permission or acknowledgement to use them.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-17745938

I have been toying with a small affiliate site and this means that i will need to add a pop-up asking if the user is ok with cookies.

This also goes for pretty much every site on the internet - certainly any that have affiliate links and banner ads.

I'm a total novice but this law seems ridiculous and i can't see it sticking. Cookies on the whole seem very misunderstood by the masses and i would assume average joe will not allow cookies given the option.

So...anyone got any opinions on this? are you going to comply?

Soldato
I'm interested in this thread as I'm currently in charge of a car owners' club website! We use Wordpress and phpBB, but no Google Analytics or AdWords etc...

Associate
OP
so far i haven't seen it on any websites apart from the BT one mentioned in the BBC article - even then i clicked away from the message without actually selecting an option and it vanished.

i think i'll hold off until i see it being implimented more widely. i'm not making any money anyway but interested to hear other peoples thoughts.

Soldato
I've just completed a cookie audit for the websites I manage. Our group is taking the necessary steps.

In my personal opinion, once you get over the stupidity, why aren't Facebook or Google giving any guidance on this? It's analytics and its four cookies or facebook social plugins and its army that are on the majority of our sites which are non-compliant with the legislation. All of our other cookies are arguably essential to the application they are within and therefore exempt.

Last edited:
Associate