1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Corsair Vengeance Tall Heatsink Removed!!!

Discussion in 'Memory' started by pc_monkey, Dec 3, 2011.

  1. pc_monkey

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 3, 2011

    Posts: 712

    Location: East Anglia

    Just removed my Corsair vengeance tall heatsink. It's a lot easier than I thought. I used a plastic spatula to pry the heatsink off:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    And my new bling bling !

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Plec

    Soldato

    Joined: Apr 19, 2003

    Posts: 5,426

    They are easy to get off - sometimes too easy.

    Nice sharp pics - personally i think your memory looks better with the new lower profile skin even with the bling look :)
     
  3. NeoVo

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 2, 2009

    Posts: 872

    Very interesting idea :).

    I was concerned that I was going to encounter heat sink mounting issues with my the 4 sticks of vengeance ram being so high, but fortunately the corsair H50 doesn't require much clearance :).
     
  4. bhavv

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Nov 14, 2009

    Posts: 13,645

    Those tall vengeance heatspreaders are ridiculous considering that the vengeance ram is just bog cheap standard stuff that barely overclocks, yet its marketted as overclocking ram.

    No more Corsair for me after these thats for sure. Pay more than other brands, get the same cheap stuff, ewwww!!!! :mad:
     
  5. setter

    Don

    Joined: Dec 14, 2005

    Posts: 28,160

    Location: armoy, n. ireland

    I wonder if you could do this with a set of ocz reapers? An old pic below of them in my previous eclipse 62 with a TRUE.

    [​IMG]

    I was thinking of purchasing a silver arrow cooler, but the reaper's heatpipe would be badly in the way.
     
  6. Surveyor

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 5, 2010

    Posts: 21,188

    Location: Back in the saddle

    It depends how they're stuck on.

    The OP's were stuck on with what looks like thermal tape so were easy to remove.

    Some are stuck to the chips with thermal adhesive and you can risk pulling the RAM chips off the PCB trying to remove the heat spreaders.
     
  7. setter

    Don

    Joined: Dec 14, 2005

    Posts: 28,160

    Location: armoy, n. ireland

    Iirc, there are some reaper kits where theyre stuck on with pads, (several different designs of reaper). I remember a few users on here reporting that the heatspreaders fell off them.
     
  8. abarth_1200

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 10, 2012

    Posts: 166

    I have a set of Reapers from April 2009 I tried taking the heatsink off, unscrewed the 2 black screws and started to pry open with a think piece of plastic, heard a crack noise then decided to abandon the idea, tested them with memtest86+ just incase I did pull a chip off the pcb, they are OK but if they are hard to remove do not continue
     
  9. setter

    Don

    Joined: Dec 14, 2005

    Posts: 28,160

    Location: armoy, n. ireland

    Ive switched them out now for 12gb of low profile kingston hyper x in a 3x4gb configuration. Might use the reapers in my other machine along with 6gb of corsair xms 3.
     
  10. Plec

    Soldato

    Joined: Apr 19, 2003

    Posts: 5,426

    I figured you would scratch that itch sooner or later ;)

    Have you noticed any benefits jumping from 6gb to 12gb setter - BF3 in particular?
     
  11. setter

    Don

    Joined: Dec 14, 2005

    Posts: 28,160

    Location: armoy, n. ireland

    Not much difference in bf3, as my ram use was around 2gb for the game. Windows feels a lot snappier though. Made the upgrade as the kingston was pretty cheap, and i see it has risen quite steeply in the last few weeks. The reapers were an excellent high end cas7 set, but due to their size they were a hindrance to the cpu cooler.
     
  12. littlepuppy

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 6, 2008

    Posts: 3,979

    Location: Birmingham

    what chips were on the vengeance out of interest, also is that a 260 or 280 above? loved those fuly encased cards, looked awesome.
     
  13. Rroff

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 13, 2006

    Posts: 44,545

    As mentioned above OCZ Reaper kits are a bit hit and miss when it comes to removing the heatpipes - I tried to take one of my kits apart after heating stories of the heatspreader coming loose in the case and they were v. secure :S
     
  14. goodl

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 21, 2007

    Posts: 734

    Location: Liverpool

    nice photos
     
  15. PapaLazaru

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 23, 2009

    Posts: 15,985

    Location: Reading

    Indeed. What camera?
     
  16. panyan

    Soldato

    Joined: Mar 13, 2011

    Posts: 7,458

    Location: Bada Bing

    was it only asthetics and clearance that you changed or was there another reason? overclocking perhaps?

    personally, i think paying more for heatspreaders is a waste as ram only gets hot if your overclocking it alot :)
     
  17. pc_monkey

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 3, 2011

    Posts: 712

    Location: East Anglia


    Don't know if you're asking me or the other chaps' pics, anyway thanks, and I used a Canon 7D.




    It was just for clearance, because my Silver Arrow is such a monster.
     
  18. panyan

    Soldato

    Joined: Mar 13, 2011

    Posts: 7,458

    Location: Bada Bing

    yeah, thats the same issue with the d-14 - the price of awesome performance
     
  19. setter

    Don

    Joined: Dec 14, 2005

    Posts: 28,160

    Location: armoy, n. ireland

    Or go water cooled.;) Love to do it myself, but the cost is very prohibitive.
     


Share This Page