Could someone recommend me a speaker with built in amp for pc

Associate
Noob here, Budget is about £300, dont have pc yet so i dont know what sound card i will end up with. needs to be simple to setup that does not take up much room. i was looking at KEF X300A but i heard bad things about it

Associate
OP
Ok I hope im not sounding like a broken record but I come up with a new setup, here it is:
Q Acoustics 3020i Bookshelf Speakers £249
Q ACOUSTICS 3070s Active Subwoofer £199
Marantz PM5005 Integrated Amplifier £169.77
Total: £617.77

Is this a good setup?

Associate
OP
QA 3070s subwoofer is no good anyway, not unless you get an amplifier that has sub out or pre out, which the Marantz 5005 doesn't. You'd have to spend a bit more on an amp to get sub or pre out

Even so, I wouldn't buy the 3070s regardless, not when the BK Gemini II is only a few more £.

QA 3020i are a good speakers, but if you have a Richer Sounds store near you, then you can get the 3020 for a paltry £100. I very much doubt the 3020i model is worth the extra £150.

If you are looking to spend £250 on the speakers, I'd probably be more inclined to spend a bit extra and go for maybe Monitor Audio Bronze 2 or if slightly larger speaker is not an issue; DALI Zensor 3; otherwise for £100 the 3020 are a fantastic bargain (if you can get to a Richer Sounds store).

Bronze 2 and Zensor 3 have larger woofers, so as Ivan has said above; you may feel a subwoofer is not needed.

Of course if you do have a local Richer Sounds store, you should be able to demo all these.

For the amp: Marantz 5005 is a decent budget amp, but something like the Yamaha AS501 for £250 might be a good choice. Has dedicated subwoofer output (so no need to mess around using speaker level cables from amp to sub) and a built in DAC. If you've not got a sound card, saves connecting the amp to the onboard audio.

Thank you so much, that's some great advice. i shall look into it.

Associate
OP