1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CPU Faulty? i9-9900k - System restart on loading into x-plane other games.

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by RefutedUK, Jan 23, 2019.

  1. RefutedUK

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 23, 2019

    Posts: 6

    Good morning all, i'm not really new to the scene but i am having a few problems it seems, to get to the short of it,

    my CPU with AI on at 4900mhz is fine, everything is perfect i try bumping this to 5000mhz and the game crashes half way loading, I've tried over and over again bumping it up and i'm 100% sure its when it hits 5000mhz as the CPU could be defective? it's not a cooling issue in the slightest, everything is put together properly and I've had it double checked

    (The stats below the cpu is running at 65c which is totally wrong, my core temp and AI suite is 30c must be a error within the gpu-z programme.

    To note i am using the Cooler Master MasterLiquid ML360R Addressable RGB CPU Cooler - 360mnm (all hooked up and running properly

    "So just to recap when its running like it is now at 4.9mhz it opens xplane all is fine perfect - when i reboot and it ticks to 5mhz i open xplane and then it instantly restarts - heat is fine so it cant be that"

    My POWER SUPPLY is a 650w (cooler master)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Below are my full specs

    CPU Name
    Intel® Core™ i9-9900K CPU @ 3.60GHz

    Threading
    1 CPU - 8 Core - 16 Threads
    Frequency
    4897.6 MHz (49 * 99.95 MHz) - Uncore: 4297.9 MHz

    Multiplier
    Current: 49 / Min: 8 / Max: 50

    Architecture
    Coffee Lake / Stepping: P0 / Technology: 14 nm

    CPUID / Ext.
    6.E.C / 6.9E

    IA Extensions
    MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, SSE4.1, SSE4.2, EM64T, VT-x, AES, AVX, AVX2, FMA3, TSX

    Caches
    L1D : 32 KB / L2 : 256 KB / L3 : 16384 KB

    Caches Assoc.
    L1D : 8-way / L2 : 4-way / L3 : 16-way

    Microcode
    Rev. 0xA0

    TDP / Vcore
    95 Watts / 0.608 Volts

    Temperature
    68 °C / 154 °F (WRONG)

    Type
    Retail (Stock Frequency : 3600 MHz)

    Cores Frequencies
    #00: 4897.60 MHz  #01: 4897.60 MHz  #02: 4897.60 MHz  #03: 4897.60 MHz 
    #04: 4897.60 MHz  #05: 4897.60 MHz  #06: 4897.60 MHz  #07: 4897.60 MHz 

    Model
    Asus ROG MAXIMUS XI HERO

    Socket
    Socket 1151 LGA

    North Bridge
    Intel Coffee Lake rev 0A

    South Bridge
    Intel Z390 rev 10

    BIOS
    American Megatrends Inc. 0602 (10/19/2018)

    GPU Type
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti (GP102) @ 1556 MHz

    GPU Brand
    EVGA Corp.

    GPU Specs
    GP102-350 / Process: 16nm / Transistors: 12000M / Die Size: 471 mm² / TDP: 250W

    GPU Units
    Shader Units: 3584 / Texture Units (TMU): 224 / Render Units (ROP): 88

    GPU VRAM
    11264 MB GDDR5X 352 bit @ 5575 MHz (Micron)

    GPU APIs
    DirectX 12.0 (12_1) / OpenGL 4.5 / OpenCL 1.2 / Vulkan 1.0
     
  2. Silent_Scone

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 5, 2011

    Posts: 12,223

    Location: Surrey

    if looking for a 5G+ OC on all cores it's best to overclock from within the UEFI

    5GHz can need anywhere in the region of 1.25 to 1.4v under load depending on the CPU sample, and even then, not CPU can achieve this. Moreover, judging by how quickly the system crashes when bumping the multiplier it's possible 49 is conditional, too.
     
  3. MaXxBoulton

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 11, 2019

    Posts: 264

    Location: Dagobah system

    if it all works fine at 4.9Ghz but not at 5Ghz, its not a faulty CPU its an unstable overclock
     
  4. JCLDJB

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 9, 2019

    Posts: 72

    A CPU not reaching a 5Ghz Overclock doesn't mean it's defective.
    Only if the CPU doesn't work at stock settings, then you may consider it defective.
    The moment you overclock your CPU/change voltage/increase multiplier, you run the risk of having an unstable overclock.

    Even though most 9900K owners can, it doesn't mean that 5Ghz overclock is guaranteed.
     
  5. MaXxBoulton

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 11, 2019

    Posts: 264

    Location: Dagobah system

    100%, many people this overclock is a guaranteed thing
     
  6. h1ght

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 24, 2019

    Posts: 3

    look for cpu sa/io voltage. msi ***** it up when using xmp. high voltages can be instable
     
  7. Gabbatek

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 28, 2011

    Posts: 1,562

    Location: Norwich

    yep its cpu lottery. Mine runs upto 1.5v for 5ghz on the rare occasion but normally sits between 1.3 and 1.4. But i don't have mine running at 5ghz constantly.
     
  8. Ed the killer whale

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 10, 2019

    Posts: 1

    Location: Belgium Ostend

    I have a stable I9 99OO at 5GHZ with the voltage on auto.:)
    This is one my system the limit without playing with the voltage settings
    I also fly Xplane 11 with no problems.
    My motherboard is a Asus Strix Z390F
     
  9. Parkinson1NX

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 16, 2015

    Posts: 295

    Location: Norfolk, ENG

    I've seen on here people achieve 5Ghz at 1.26v, I'm not so lucky. 5Ghz all core takes at least 1.28/1.38v for me.

    Defiantly better to overclock from the BIOS though. Don't assume someones settings will work for you because that is defiantly not the case 9 times out of 10.