1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DDR4-4000 Vs 3600, latencies

Discussion in 'Memory' started by arconz, 3 May 2021.

  1. arconz

    Associate

    Joined: 27 Jun 2020

    Posts: 52

    Location: New Zealand

    Which of the following G.Skill Trident Z 64GB (2x32GB) kits would be best for a Ryzen 5950X? Both are the same price:

    Royal DDR4-4000 CL18
    Neo DDR4-3600 CL16

    They will be used in a 3D simulation & editing rig.
     
  2. Joxeon

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 15 Oct 2019

    Posts: 7,505

    Location: Uk

    I'd probably get the neo if you just want to set XMP and forget it as the royals will need messing about with.

    In terms of bin quaility they will be about the same.
     
  3. Stu

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,715

    Location: Wirral

    What's the price difference? As said above, probably about the same, so get the cheapest.
     
  4. Journey

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 10,389

    Location: West Midlands

    I've not managed to get a 5950X above 3800MHz IF with 1:1 RAM, when there is 64GB/128GB, that doesn't mean you won't but you could happily down clock the 4000MHz, and tighten the timings for better latencies, which will make a big difference in your area of use. The Neo might do 3800MHz at C16 but there are no guarantees, so if they cost the same, it seems like an obvious choice.
     
  5. Stu

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,715

    Location: Wirral

    Royal DDR4-4000 CL18 = 9ns latency
    Neo DDR4-3600 CL16 = 8.9ns latency

    The Neo chips are better in theory, but the difference is nothing... I will bet they are from the same bin. I will be surprised if you can get the IF to 4000, which means you drop the Royal to 3800, and I will be surprised if the Neo will not go up to 3800 at the same timings as the Royal. I'll stick with my original recommendation... get the cheaper ones.
     
  6. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 May 2010

    Posts: 21,510

    Location: London

    With the 3600 CL16 sticks you also have the DOCP profile you can fall back on.

    With the 4000MHz kit your own your own if they dont work at 4000MHz 1:1.
     
  7. RichL

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 2 Nov 2003

    Posts: 1,666

    I have F4-4000C18D-64GTZN (likely the same as the Royal) running at CL16 3800MHz with my 5950x (IF 1900). I think I can squeeze a bit more out of the timings and IF but not spent a lot of time on it yet.

    Crucial Ballistix bl2k32g36c16u4bl is worth a look too, it has tighter timings than the Neo 3600 CL16 kit and will probably hit 3800+ CL16 easily enough.
     
    Last edited: 7 May 2021
  8. HRL

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 22 Nov 2005

    Posts: 2,376

    Location: Devon

    I’m running that Samsung B-die Team Group RAM @ 3800/16/16/16/32/48 with 1.37V on my 5950X.

    Will push for CL14 when I have some time on my hands.
     
  9. Guest2

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 May 2009

    Posts: 17,543

    2x16GB or 2x32GB?
     
  10. HRL

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 22 Nov 2005

    Posts: 2,376

    Location: Devon

    2x16Gb. I’ve no need for 64Gb RAM.
     
  11. Guest2

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 May 2009

    Posts: 17,543

    Yes, but the OP does. Apparently much harder to archive the time frequencies, timings and IF on 64GB kits.

    I'm running the same 2x16GB 8 pack team group 3600MHz CAS16 kit as you @3800 1900IF / 14-15-13-28-42 with 1.5V

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  12. HRL

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 22 Nov 2005

    Posts: 2,376

    Location: Devon

    Shouldn’t make any difference between a 5800 and a 5950, right? They’re both similar quality chips aren’t they.
     
  13. Guest2

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 May 2009

    Posts: 17,543

    Not sure. I think the 5950 is better quality & more cores but whether that equates to higher / tighter timings on RAM i expect not.
    I did change some CPU related voltages to stabalise the system at 1900IF - VSOC, CCD & IOD
     
  14. Guest2

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 May 2009

    Posts: 17,543

    Not sure. I think the 5950 is better quality & more cores but whether that equates to higher / tighter timings on RAM i expect not.
    I did change some CPU related voltages to stabalise the system at 1900IF - VSOC, CCD & IOD
    Nuts. Double post. Please remove