DDR5 with a £100 budget?

Man of Honour
Joined
23 Mar 2011
Posts
16,968
Location
West Side
6000mhz c30 is the optimum for AM5, as Tetras say won't make much difference in gaming but that won't mean improvements won't be made.

Take a look at

ADATA XPG Lancer Blade 32GB DDR5 6000MHz CL30
 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
4 Oct 2019
Posts
2,191
Location
Belfast
I’d be inclined to get 6000 MT/S RAM with AMD, just because even if it won’t make a noticeable difference, it’s what AMD recommends and RAM isn’t expensive these days so saving the odd £ for cheaper RAM isn’t really worth it.
 
Soldato
Joined
16 Feb 2006
Posts
7,382
I vaguely remember him saying something about Corsair DIMMs but can’t recall exactly what.

Do you have the video at hand by any chance?
I don't but Corsair use Samsung chips which in the intel world seem to a be a no go as they don't overclock well at all compared to the Hynix chips which offer better stability. Whilst this may not matter with AMD, I'd rather go with better quality chips.....and i like to have a little play with timings regardless :D
 
Associate
Joined
4 Oct 2019
Posts
2,191
Location
Belfast
I don't but Corsair use Samsung chips which in the intel world seem to a be a no go as they don't overclock well at all compared to the Hynix chips which offer better stability. Whilst this may not matter with AMD, I'd rather go with better quality chips.....and i like to have a little play with timings regardless :D
I think we all worry about RAM too much though, even Samsung has some advantages and most people won’t notice the difference between regular speed RAM or faster RAM.
 
Associate
Joined
28 Oct 2002
Posts
1,256
Location
London
I have that Kingston kit in an Intel build (xmp enabled). Tightened the timings and have it running at 6400 C32; no problems. Great kit for the money.
 
Soldato
Joined
12 Feb 2014
Posts
2,838
Location
Somewhere Only We Know
There is a big difference between running DDR5 on an AMD system to an Intel system.

On AM5 there is no point running ram any faster than 6400, as anything over 6400 and you will have to run in 2:1 mode, there is no point running 2:1 until your trying or running 7600-8000, because anything lower is worse than running 6000 CL30 at 1:1.

6400 CL30/CL32 at 1:1 = about 7600 2:1, same for same in benchmarks, so forget 6600 and 6800 on AM5 as you will have to be in 2:1 and be getting speeds closer to 5600 1:1

They fixed the long training on DDR5 / AM5 systems, but only if you are running it at full stock, the second you enable XMP / EXPO or manually overclock, you're back to 20 seconds plus training before the system posts.

With AM5 being new, we are back to Ryzen 1000 days with B350 / X370 motherboards, expect fixes and improvements with the next generation of boards and CPU's.
 
Last edited:
Soldato
Joined
15 Oct 2019
Posts
11,792
Location
Uk
On AM5 there is no point running ram any faster than 6400, as anything over 6400 and you will have to run in 2:1 mode, there is no point running 2:1 until your trying or running 7600-8000, because anything lower is worse than running 6000 CL30 at 1:1.
That maybe true now but in a gen or two ryzen chips maybe able to run higher memory so it doesn't hurt to get a kit that will give you the option down the line.
 
Soldato
Joined
12 Feb 2014
Posts
2,838
Location
Somewhere Only We Know
That maybe true now but in a gen or two ryzen chips maybe able to run higher memory so it doesn't hurt to get a kit that will give you the option down the line.
Ryzen can run higher memory now, I often switch between 2 different profiles I have set, one being 6400 and the other being 8000, depends what im doing, but me (along with plenty of others) have tried with every bios update to get 6600 stable 1:1, it doesnt matter how much voltage you pump into the sticks, ive tried upto 1.75v, or IMC, or how reasonably loose you make the timings, its just not possible, and 6600 2:1 doesnt yeild any performance benefit, my kit by the way is a 7800 kit, and I brought it to play.
 
Soldato
Joined
15 Oct 2019
Posts
11,792
Location
Uk
They may improve the IMC in newer gen chips though which will allow for a higher 1:1 in the future, the same happened with AM4 where some of the later gen chips were capable of 3800~4000mhz 1-1 while the first couple of gen’s struggle to get over 3200mhz.
 
Associate
Joined
8 Nov 2006
Posts
414
Location
Scotland
Biggest issue on AM5 is a total lack of 2 DIMM boards. AMD have made good progress with AGESA but 4 DIMM boards really add extra strain on the Ryzen 7000 IMCs.

If you snag a 2 DIMM board you'll have a good chance of making DDR5 sing if your IMC is at least decent (6000~6200 easily, 6400 1:1 if your IMC is good and then 8000 in 2:1 is easier than 6400).

The Asrock B650M-HDV/M.2 punches so far above its weight right now it's not funny. Not sure OCUK sell it though.

I've got a X670E GENE myself, stupidly overpriced board lol.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top Bottom