Desk and 8086k

Associate
558B36C5-A693-493B-A101-020F6121A80D_zpsztydngsw.jpg

Hi all,​

This is the start of a long term project which will involve a full specification upgrade and I am aiming to build this new pc within a desk. The pc will be water cooled.

I took inspiration from Linus' design and @tankian ’s build log but I am still unsure if this design is the best way forward at the moment. I am at the initial planning stage at this moment and would like to garner any feedback you may have. Forgive my design skills, I am fairly new to Sketch up.

Ideally, I would add a subwoofer stand to the underneath the main body of the desk.

Initially I am looking at 1.3m length x 0.75m depth. I am unsure of height at this moment and am trying to find the perfect 'fit' for me.

I am still undecided on the lower glass panel.

I will be asking a carpenter to build the bulk of the desk for me as I am not the most handy.

Anyway, that's about it for now. All feedback will be considered very useful at this stage.

Thanks,
Skyline

Something like this:
maxresdefault.jpg

Last edited:
Soldato
Obviously following this, I love me a desk build :)

You're right to consider the height. This is maybe the single most crucial variable as every body is different and you can't know until you try. My advice is to get the chair you plan on using because that's one part of the equation. Then try stacking a board onto boxes or similar and playing with a mouse/keyboard.

When I build workbenches for myself I set the height up for what's comfortable, I tend to work standing up or use a tall bar stool for soldering work. I'm just under 6' and I've found my benches are maybe 10cm taller than the average.

Good luck, I'm a carpenter and electronic engineer and there's plenty of talented folks on these forums, so definitely come here if you have wonderings about your design!

Associate
OP
Obviously following this, I love me a desk build :)