1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do Sky Throttle their Broadband?

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by Bennie-Mac, Oct 7, 2010.

  1. Bennie-Mac

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 10, 2008

    Posts: 11,956

    Location: Bangor, Northern Ireland

    Hi folks

    Im currently on Sky Broadband 20Mb unlimited, I was on their 10Gb limited service which ran perfectly for almost two years, but i went over the limit twice so they automatically upgraded me to their so called best package. Ever since then the connection speeds can become rediculous every few days, for example im currently getting this...

    [​IMG][/URL]

    I normally get around 3-5Mbps which suits me fine, but this is unbearably slow. I just wanted to know if anyone else has/is experienced this with Sky before i make an angry phone call.

    Thanks :)
     
  2. SeraphX

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 7, 2010

    Posts: 7,173

    Location: Sussex

    yes sky throttle,

    i use to be throttled between the hours of 3pm and 11pm daily
     
  3. Slinky1989

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 8, 2007

    Posts: 3,575

    Location: Swindon, Wiltshire

    I get similar results at peak times and I'm on the up to 8mb package. It's unbearable. As far as I can tell, the lines are just ridiculously over subscribed, so come peak times, even if you haven't gone over your limit (which we never have) your line speeds grind down to a crawl.

    Not a lot that can be done afaik :(
     
  4. thepeganator

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 14, 2008

    Posts: 2,486

    Location: Portsmouth/Salisbury

    No mention of throttling when I was with Sky, but that was a year and a bit ago.

    I would call them anyway with it going that slow!
     
  5. manbearpig

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 21, 2009

    Posts: 1,495

    Location: Bedfordshire

    I am currently getting limited to about the same speed as yours every day, it normally goes back to normal at 11pm for me.
     
  6. Bennie-Mac

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 10, 2008

    Posts: 11,956

    Location: Bangor, Northern Ireland

    The annoying thing is its works fine for maybe a week, with no signs of throttling at peak hours then all of a sudden it turns to poo. Never had any issues before i was "upgraded" at all either...

    I know they throttle/used to throttle Sky Connect customers but i didnt think they throttled anyone else.

    Looks like that angry phone call is a goer :mad:
     
  7. manbearpig

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 21, 2009

    Posts: 1,495

    Location: Bedfordshire

    I know it sounds silly but are you sure you are on unlimited?, because we asked to upgrade to 20mb unlimited but they didn't change it at all.
     
  8. DJDaz

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 9, 2004

    Posts: 1,175

    Location: Essex

    On the Sky LLU unlimited there is no throttling. So if your speeds are dropping there's a problem somewhere.

    Edit: plus your ping is rediculously high so that's also a sign there's a problem.
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2010
  9. Bennie-Mac

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 10, 2008

    Posts: 11,956

    Location: Bangor, Northern Ireland

    Yep definately on unlimited, ill give them a call like i said, its really not fit for purpose
     
  10. MissChief

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 17, 2010

    Posts: 11,511

    As has been said by some of you, Sky don't throttle their unlimited product at all. They do on thier Connect package which isn't LLU and really is to be avoided for anything other than basic email and internet use.
     
  11. kapows

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Jun 21, 2010

    Posts: 248

    some people are on llu but getting throttled or slow speeds - sky have done this - they did it to my mate they used summat to slow him down but he got it removed
     
  12. Bennie-Mac

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 10, 2008

    Posts: 11,956

    Location: Bangor, Northern Ireland

    It wouldnt have been them testing the line would it? Ive just logged on to My Sky and they say they are currently testing the line and it will take 10 days to finish...

    10 days of bog slow internet just because you want to test what speed im getting? You can **** right off!
     
  13. KIA

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Nov 14, 2004

    Posts: 13,299

    I'm pretty sure it ain't LLU.
     
  14. bifday2k

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 3, 2009

    Posts: 2,550

    Iv been on there top package for years, iv never been throttled at all, i don't get the best of speeds a steady 5Mb/s day or night, but thats due to line length, if you are trully on their unlimited LLU pacakage they don't throttle it. Can't speak for their lessor packages though.

    It would seem from your screen shot/speed test that there is an issue on the line. Look at the ping to that server, should'nt be that high.

    I would deffinatly call them, as that speed is way to slow, and i would say there is a problem.
     
  15. Zarf

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 11, 2007

    Posts: 2,527

    I'm with UK Online's non-LLU service, which i'm pretty sure is the same as Skys Connect (Sky own Easynet who run UKonline)
    It always used to be reasonable, certain games weren't great sometimes in the evenings but other than that it was fine considering the price.
    This past week, however has been horrendous, from 4pm until midnight every day the net is almost unusable.
    I've tried various routers/microfilters, it's definitely a screwed up throttling on their end. I'm pretty sure they must have cut back on capacity somewhere because it was never this bad before.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    After midnight Line quality will be back to 'A' <30ms ping with <5ms jitter.
     
  16. Addicted

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 23, 2007

    Posts: 2,574

    Location: Worcester

    never had throttling here, and neither have my friends!
     
  17. Vita

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Mar 26, 2006

    Posts: 9,105

    Location: United Kingdom

    [​IMG]
     
  18. Rizo-UK

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 1, 2010

    Posts: 1,373

    Location: Cirencester, nr Swindon

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Rizo-UK

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 1, 2010

    Posts: 1,373

    Location: Cirencester, nr Swindon

    [​IMG]

    I normally pull down 10gb per day :)
     
  20. DJDaz

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 9, 2004

    Posts: 1,175

    Location: Essex

    [​IMG]
     


Share This Page