Do you let your Vista Sleep?

Soldato
Hi,

I have Vista Ultimate Retail, and opted for the 32bit install as some programs run slow in 64bit. Not that this matter, but I've told you know anyway :)

Well it would appear that Vista seems to promote putting your PC to sleep over shutting down altogehter (seeing that the shut down button puts the PC to sleep, and it takes 2 extra clicks to shut down), do you put your to sleep? Or shut it down?

I wouldn;t even ask this question as I think putting it to sleep is a fantastic idea, but a while back someone on here said that putting his XP to sleep screwed things up, and usually it would come out of sleep (went into a coma :) )? So it makes be dubious about doing it?

So just wanna know what you do? And is it bad for your system?

ta

Steve M

I would just tell it to hibernate every night, but I'm a poor student so save on the electricity bill by turning it off properly.

I do hibernate it if I'm just going out for a while though.

Also, if I did leave it on hibernate at night, I'd probably unplug the Power LED on my case - that tiny thing is surprisingly bright when the room's dark.

What do you mean Vista x64 runs programs slower? It just flicks the CPU into 32-bit mode for the 32-bit code and runs it entirely natively. According to most benchmarks it equals and even outperforms Vista x86.

With regards sleep, it's hybrid. It puts it into Standby, but also writes the contents of the RAM to HDD - just like Hibernate. You have the advantage of waking up quickly, but if the power cut out it could resume from hibernate without losing anything.

Vista has 2 different options - Hibernate is different from Sleep.

I don't think sleep writes to HDD and I dont think Hibernate can be woken from the Mouse etc. but Apart from that, there doesn't seem to be much difference.

keogh said: