• Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

Dual Core Processors....

Soldato
Joined
2 Oct 2004
Posts
4,362
Location
N.W London
Hi,

Anyday now I will be recieivng my X2 opty 170 chip :)....

Once its installed is there anything I need to do in windows?

I play games, surf the net and overclock....

Please help

Thanks in advance...
 
Soldato
Joined
4 Sep 2005
Posts
6,424
Location
Whitwood, West Yorks
FrankJH said:
Ok fair enough - do you have one built into a broadband router as well and do you use both or just the nv one?

Just the nv one, and my interpretation of good is that it doesnt interfere with gaming online and doesnt couse any slowdown.

If its any good for its purpose i have no idea!
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Aug 2005
Posts
13,173
Location
Shropshire
Yh turn cool and quiet off lol..

It adjusts processor multiplier and voltage from what ive read :eek: and makes the processor unstable if your trying to overclock it
 
Soldato
Joined
28 Nov 2003
Posts
11,647
Location
Manchester, UK
Well iv just taken out the 3500+ and fitted the 2X 3800+.

So far so good, all I did was a straight swap and everything seems to be working just fine. Havent installed any drivers.
 
Suspended
Joined
17 Mar 2006
Posts
9,055
TaKeN said:
Yh turn cool and quiet off lol..

It adjusts processor multiplier and voltage from what ive read :eek: and makes the processor unstable if your trying to overclock it

CAQ is ok if you just have stock CPU speeds though, and don't overclock. Useful in a htpc where you want it to run cool as possible, therefore quieter, and don't need CPU to be 100% all the time (ie music playback)
 
Associate
Joined
1 Aug 2005
Posts
723
Location
Not far from you!
marc mercer said:
download the x2 driver from amd site ... .then enjoy :)

Hi... when i used x2 driver i experienced choppy gaming...i would try it without first...then it's up to you if you wanna try it....if you gain anything from it let me know. :)
 
Back
Top Bottom