1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dual System Single PSU

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by Kurgen, Jun 8, 2018.

  1. Kurgen

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 10, 2015

    Posts: 1,470

    Location: Hungerford, UK, Earth

    what would the power draw be on the systems below.. im thinking of using a single PSU using a Phanteks Power splitter, to allow me to remove the SFX PSU and cables and add another Fan

    PC1
    Intel i7 8700k
    Gigabyte Z370N ITX Motherboard
    16gb DDR4 3000mhz
    GTX1060 6gb
    2x 128gb M.2
    3x 256gb ssd
    1x 385gb ssd
    Superflower 550w gold PSU

    PC2
    Intel Hex Core Xeon E5-2643 v3 @3.4ghz
    Asus X99-MWS Matx Workstation Motherboard
    64gb 2133mhz DDR4 ECC Ram
    GTX1050ti
    256gb m.2
    1tb HDD
    Silverstone 500w Gold SFF PSU

    Case. Phanteks Mini-XL
     
  2. EsaT

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 6, 2008

    Posts: 4,282

    Location: Finland

    That Xeon can be rather hungry, so would count that PC needing fair 200W.

    Anyway if you're intending running wires from other PC to another if there's anykind notable distance between them, then wiring should be thicker than standard thickness to minimize voltage losses.
     
  3. d_brennen

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 30, 2009

    Posts: 14,234

    Location: Aquilonem Londinensi

    You'll need 24 pin Y cable and whatever CPU (4/8pin) auxiliary cables, then wire the pwr pins in parallel to the power switch cable. Should work lovely
     
  4. Kurgen

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 10, 2015

    Posts: 1,470

    Location: Hungerford, UK, Earth

    ok you guys are missing the point, I can get the power splitter no worries , I juist need to no the wattage for a single psu
     
  5. EsaT

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 6, 2008

    Posts: 4,282

    Location: Finland

    Are you going to use them both as gaming PC or will that second be purely some HTPC or work PC?
    Especially if you're going to upgrade graphics cards that can cause notable power draw increase to current.
    So tell more precisely about what you're going to use both of those PCs.
     
  6. HoneyBadger

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 2, 2016

    Posts: 2,074

    Location: Hoo, Kent

    I’d say at full consumption you'd be looking at around 800 Watts.
     
  7. UnworthyBean

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 15, 2009

    Posts: 2,094

    Location: Gateshead, Newcastle

    Processors are 95w and 135w respectively
    Graphics cards are 120w and 75w*

    So you're at 425w there giving 125w for everything else. Fair enough, everything else doesn't draw much power but I'd say you're far too close.

    *These are just rough figures pulled from Google so don't take them as gospel. Just giving you a rough idea.
     
  8. Kurgen

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 10, 2015

    Posts: 1,470

    Location: Hungerford, UK, Earth

  9. EsaT

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 6, 2008

    Posts: 4,282

    Location: Finland

    Worst GTX 1060 actually peak at 140W
    https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ASUS/GTX_1060_STRIX_OC/24.html
    But with only one HDD there and with mATX and especially ITX motherboards being more frugal 50W less should be more than enough for other parts.

    Also simultaneous gaming on both is rather unlikely and anyway would't load CPUs fully.
    Some heavily multithreaded rendering loading CPUs again wouldn't do much to GPUs.
    So 750W would be easily enough.
    Same for 650W unless both PCs are going to run simultaneous 100% CPU+GPU load.
     
  10. Kurgen

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 10, 2015

    Posts: 1,470

    Location: Hungerford, UK, Earth

  11. Kurgen

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 10, 2015

    Posts: 1,470

    Location: Hungerford, UK, Earth

    Just to update. i have moved the above PSU into the system and connected up using the phanteks psu splitter, all working.. you dont want to see how many cabes are rammed behind the mobo etc..

    [​IMG]
     
  12. bledd

    Don

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 45,787

    Location: Parts Unknown

    May I ask what PC2 is for? Does it need a GTX1050? :D
     
  13. Kurgen

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 10, 2015

    Posts: 1,470

    Location: Hungerford, UK, Earth

    it needs a GPU as the motherboard has nothing. I use it for AutoCAD , CorelDraw, and soon Revit. its better value than a Quadro
     
  14. bledd

    Don

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 45,787

    Location: Parts Unknown

    That's one heck of a pc case :)
     
  15. Kurgen

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 10, 2015

    Posts: 1,470

    Location: Hungerford, UK, Earth

    its not actually that big, its much smaller than an enthoo primo