• Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

E6300 or E4300

Caporegime
Joined
8 Jan 2004
Posts
29,878
Location
Rutland
Core 2 Duo E6300 - 1.86 GHz (2 MB L2, 1066 MHz FSB)

Core 2 Duo E4300 - 1.80 GHz (2 MB L2, 800 MHz FSB)

E6300 is slightly faster, with a faster bus speed. So that's your winner. E4300 will have a higher multiplier so will be easier to overclock.
 
Soldato
Joined
1 Dec 2005
Posts
14,170
Location
Stoke on Trent
+1 for the E6300, although to get past 2.8 with it youre going to need PC8500 ram as its only got a x7 multiplier, if you havent already purchased tho id be considering an E5200 / E5300
 
Caporegime
Joined
8 Jan 2004
Posts
29,878
Location
Rutland
+1 for the E6300, although to get past 2.8 with it youre going to need PC8500 ram as its only got a x7 multiplier, if you havent already purchased tho id be considering an E5200 / E5300

You can just use a memory divider and clock happily with cheapo PC5300 if needs be.
 
Soldato
Joined
1 Dec 2005
Posts
14,170
Location
Stoke on Trent
It will depend on the mono i think, i had my 6300 in a P5K and that only allowed a minimum of 1:1 divider, my old 650i board however allowed me to run the RAM and CPU totally unlinked
 
Associate
Joined
1 Jan 2005
Posts
321
Location
Stoke
Having played with my E6300 I would say try the E4300 for overclocking, the multiplier will help no end.
 
Soldato
Joined
30 Aug 2006
Posts
4,709
For what its worth I have an E6300 running @ 2.9 with Geil 6400 RAM

Ive got a E6300 and PC2-6400C4 800MHz on a DS3 (like CatMangler) Do you get random resets of the BIOS?

The only thing that i have got overclocked is the System Memory Multiplier to x2.0, CPU multiplier on x7 and CPU host up to 400 this give me a Memory frequency of 800mhz and a clock of 2.8gig.

The thing that resets is the CPU host setting, it clicks back to 'automatic' somethimes. Could this be something to do with the RAM?
 
Associate
Joined
9 May 2005
Posts
448
Ive got a E6300 and PC2-6400C4 800MHz on a DS3 (like CatMangler) Do you get random resets of the BIOS?

The only thing that i have got overclocked is the System Memory Multiplier to x2.0, CPU multiplier on x7 and CPU host up to 400 this give me a Memory frequency of 800mhz and a clock of 2.8gig.

The thing that resets is the CPU host setting, it clicks back to 'automatic' somethimes. Could this be something to do with the RAM?

Just upgraded my rig this weekend after having my DS3 & 6300 for the best part of 3 years at 2.8 - 2.9Ghz.

This has been a solid overclock with very few probs since setting up. I remember I had to boost CPU, RAM and MCH voltages very slightly. CPU by 0.025 RAM at 2.3 and I can't remember the MCH volt increase. Old setup is looking very sad parked on the side of the desk.
 
Last edited:
Top