• Competitor rules

Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

E6300 vs. E6400

Associate
sorry for another c2d thread but i am currently pricing up a system that I hope to order within the week.

My question is basically, is it worth the extra £35 to get the e6400?

I plan to be overclocking on air, but not too much as i'm a bit of a noob.
It seems most people get an E6300 or E6600 and don't bother with anything in between. Also the E6400 is only available at present as retail which seems a waste. Considering I'm currently running an old P4 2.66Ghz either chip will seem like a big jump and I'm short on cash so leaning towards an E6300.

Permabanned
KaBar said:
Considering I'm currently running an old P4 2.66Ghz either chip will seem like a big jump and I'm short on cash so leaning towards an E6300.

Welcome to the forums.

Yes, I went from a 2.66 P4 to my sig... it is very rapid in comparison. :)

I'd go for the 6300 just tbh, I only got the 6400 because it was cheap.

Soldato
Theres not a lot between them price wise, but if your a grizzled overclocker its a bit more 'challenging' to overclock an e6300. The e6400 is almost priced halfway between the e6300 and e6600 so its in no mans land kinda.

I went for an e6300 myself, but its not like its a tattoo or anything, if its doesn't perform how I would like it too then i would probably wait for the next batch of CD2's to be released and try my luck with those, sell on my current chip.

Associate
OP
thanks for the replies, think i will just go for the E6300 oem