Entry Level DSLR

Associate
Hi All

It has been a long time since I have been to the OC forum however its always been a great place for advice on things like this.

I am new to the world of photography and am on the lookout for an entry level DSLR with the potential to improve. I will be going to New Zealand in May for a couple of years an hope to capture my adventures!

I am looking at a budget between £300-£500 if possible. Open to both new an used options if you would recommend used cameras for a beginner. I would also like somewhat good video capability too however if that is not recommended then again please say.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

Zak

Soldato
You wouldn't go far wrong with a Nikon D5600. For £410 brand new it's got pretty much all that you're looking for, especially the potential to improve. No idea about the video capabilities (except to say that it can record 1080), but there are hundreds of reviews around wich I'm sure cover that aspect of the camera.

Soldato
I got a refurbed 700d (actually a t5i but same thing) A few years back and it has lasted me well.

I see they are down to ~£250 now and sometimes lower. Would leave a bit of budget for some glass too. Or even there are some good used bundles with lens and battery grips ETC right in your price range.

Associate
OP
Thanks for the help. I will be photographing mainly landscapes/skiing. I would like to have one or 2 lenses if possible but I am definitely in the unknown when it comes to this so that is where the recommendations would come in handy.

4k Video capability is not a must however it would be a bonus.

Associate
OK so landscape could be covered by a simple kit lense. It won't be the best quality (hey, it's a kit lense), and something a little more rangey if you fancy it. Can pick up some reasonable quality 75-300mm lenses from the likes of Tamron if that would float your boat.