1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ESP warning light?

Discussion in 'Motors' started by Guru, Oct 6, 2011.

  1. Guru

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 8, 2005

    Posts: 4,867

    Hi all,

    My car (VW Touran) has got a light on on the dash that looks like a car with some skid lines coming out the back in orange.

    I've also discovered that the ESP button, that turns of the traction control, doesn't do anything any more. It's permanently off.

    Is this anything to worry about?

    I don't care about traction control, but if it's likely to affect ABS then I would get it fixed asap. We've got a 500 mile trip to do next week to a funeral with 3 small children on board. I don't fancy making this journey if it's something that could cause an accident. So I thought I should ask.

    VW want £50 just to have a look at the light and I was wondering if anyone here might know more specifically what that light means?

    Thanks,

    G
     
  2. Dandle

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 4, 2003

    Posts: 4,024

    Location: Ashford

    That almost certainly will be the G201 pressure sensor failure in the abs module, can you get anyone to read the code for you? Means neither your traction control or abs will operate if it is.

    Where abouts are you based because theres various companies that will fix the fault the same day for about £300.
     
  3. stoofa

    Capodecina

    Joined: Mar 4, 2003

    Posts: 10,935

    Location: Chatteris

    As above - I had exactly the same thing fail on my old Octy vRS.
    There is a whole list of VW, Skoda, Seat and Audi owners who have seen exactly the same thing happen.
    However VW group will not issue a recall on it.

    If it's in warranty - no worries, go and get it done.
    If it's out of warranty, if you have a full VW service history then ask about a goodwill gesture, ideally ask to have it done FOC as it's a known fault.
    Don't take no from the dealership - go directly to VW UK.

    If no luck then VW can use a "Fix Kit" to fix the issue. Cost is around £200+vat plus a couple of hours labour.
    It used to be a £780+vat repair before the fix kit was released for the "doesn't happen all that often" fault.

    Your ESP/ABS won't be working correctly - so you will want to get this sorted.
     
  4. wez130

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 31, 2004

    Posts: 10,124

    Location: Nether Wasdale

    Are there any independant VAG garages local to you? Theywill stick the VAGCom on it foir £15/£20 or so. But as others have virtually answered your query i'd listen to them.
     
  5. Guru

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 8, 2005

    Posts: 4,867

    The car is an 06 plate and is not in warranty. I don't have a full VW history I don't think :(

    I'm in Widmer End, near High Wycombe.

    There is a place called Marlow VW in Cressex that is an independant dub place.
     
  6. Dandle

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 4, 2003

    Posts: 4,024

    Location: Ashford

    Give them a ring and see what they say on a price for the repair kit fitted.
     
  7. encephalopathy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 28, 2003

    Posts: 1,140

    Location: N Ireland

    exact same thing happened recently on my 06 touran. used a local VW independent and had the sensor replaced and everything reset - 250 quid all in
     
  8. Guru

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 8, 2005

    Posts: 4,867

    I have just driven the car (I don't normally drive this one) and the brakes are absolutely fine. I even took it down a gravelly track and I could tell the abs was working.

    However I seemed to be able to Wheelspin quite easily. So I was thinking maybe there IS an issue with the ESP. But then it does say it's off lol. How can I check the sensors? Could something just be dirty?

    Thanks,

    G
     
  9. MeEsH BaKkA

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 12, 2002

    Posts: 2,828

    Dirty ABS sensor?
     
  10. ci_newman

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Feb 24, 2004

    Posts: 8,021

    Location: Hook, Hants

    Have you tried turning the ESP back on again, in case it was knocked off?
     
  11. Guru

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 8, 2005

    Posts: 4,867

    I don't know where they are to check to be honest.

    The button doesn't do anything. It just stays as off no matter how many times I press it unfortunately.
     
  12. [TW]Fox

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 17, 2002

    Posts: 150,974

    The esp is disabled as it has detected a fault. That's why the light is on. Do as everyone says and get the codes read as you are just guessing until you do.
     
  13. Fuzz

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 3, 2003

    Posts: 15,296

    Location: Cheltenham ;-)


    The usual case of ask for advise but then never follow any of it :D
     
  14. Guru

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 8, 2005

    Posts: 4,867

    I have emailed the only company I know with a vagcom, other than that, with being at work and not using this car I haven't had time to follow any advice yet give me a chance :p

    Unless some kind person on here is near high wycombe and has one?
     
  15. Fuzz

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 3, 2003

    Posts: 15,296

    Location: Cheltenham ;-)

    I have, but I'm nowhere near High Wycombe :D
     
  16. Guru

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 8, 2005

    Posts: 4,867

    The company with the VAGCOM wanted £50 to scan. By some Bizarre co-incidence I've found someone with the latest VCDS on another forums who completely randomly lives on the same road as me and will do it for a tenner :D

    Result :)
     
  17. Guru

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 8, 2005

    Posts: 4,867

    Address 03: ABS Brakes *******Labels: 1K0-907-379-MK60-F.lbl
    **Part No SW: 1K0 907 379 AA ***HW: 1K0 907 379 AA
    **Component: ESP FRONT MK60 *****0102 *
    **Revision: 00H13001 ***
    **Coding: 0021190
    **Shop #: WSC 01324 785 00200
    **VCID: 71E33CE71132

    1 Fault Found:
    01435 - Brake Pressure Sensor 1 (G201)
    ***********012 - Electrical Fault in Circuit
     
  18. Dandle

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 4, 2003

    Posts: 4,024

    Location: Ashford

    That's good at least you know what to get a quote for when phoning around now. Your ABS won't be working with that fault either.
     
  19. Guru

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 8, 2005

    Posts: 4,867

    The ABS light isn't on and I can tell from driving it that the ABS is still working, but I still don't know how dangerous it is.

    I think I will have the mrs use my other car with the kids until it's sorted though.
     
  20. Dandle

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 4, 2003

    Posts: 4,024

    Location: Ashford

    The ABS won't work with that pressure sensor inoperative. It's not ideal but you can still use the car with the ABS not working, a few years ago no cars even had ABS. The light on the switch is off because you don't have the option to turn it off now it is broken, if the system was ok the switch would be lit.
     


Share This Page