1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FAH Control?

Discussion in 'Team OcUK Distributed Computing Projects' started by Yellow_Sun, Mar 18, 2017.

  1. Yellow_Sun

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 17, 2017

    Posts: 24

    Location: UK

    How do I add CPU's to my Folding as I am at the moment 1?
    When I could run with 3 CPU's cores being used?
    Processor is a Core 2 Duo which gives x4 Cores?
     
  2. Jumper118

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 17, 2012

    Posts: 3,374

    Location: Leeds

    a core 2 duo only has 2 cores. you can add or change the number of core by going on add slot and selecting cpu. then you can manually add cores by just typing the number of cores in or -1 will set it automatically.
     
  3. Yellow_Sun

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 17, 2017

    Posts: 24

    Location: UK

    Sorry, my mistake CPU is in fact an Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 2.85 GHz
     
  4. Jumper118

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 17, 2012

    Posts: 3,374

    Location: Leeds

    ok. in that case you are right it does have 4 cores !
     
  5. Yellow_Sun

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 17, 2017

    Posts: 24

    Location: UK

    So how do i get FAH to see 3 cores as currently only seeing 1?
     
  6. Jumper118

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 17, 2012

    Posts: 3,374

    Location: Leeds

    like i said, you need need to edit the cpu slot and set it to 3 instead of 1 or -1.
     
  7. mark128

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 29, 2003

    Posts: 370

    Location: North West UK

    Also bear in mind, if you plan to use GPU folding, each GPU will require a CPU core.
     
  8. AMDIT

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 18, 2007

    Posts: 35

    Location: Cov

    FAH Control should auto detect the available cores so you should not need to set core count manually afak. Are you folding with GPU's too?
     
  9. Acme

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 29, 2011

    Posts: 24,680

    Location: Broken down.

    I'd also not bother folding on the Core 2 Quad, it will probably only net you a couple of thousand PPD at best, not worth it vs. the power it will consume. Best to focus on GPU folding. Generally CPU folding isn't worth it for F@H in general, even if you are running a 5GHz i7 Extreme. There are however other folding projects which are better suited to CPU's. :)
     


Share This Page