1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Failover Cluster running Hyper V Server?

Discussion in 'Servers and Enterprise Solutions' started by james73, May 14, 2019.

1. james73

Associate

Ok. I'm a bit of a noob to Server virtualisation. I'd like a set-up as shown below - two physically identical boxes, running Hyper V Server, with a SAN storage attached.

My question is, can I run my entire network (less than 20 users) on a set-up like this? I'd be looking at around 4, 5 maybe 6 virtual servers on the Cluster boxes. It'd be one Domain Controller (running AD, File Server, etc) and the other servers smaller tasks (email server; back-up schedule; whatever else; etc).

We've not a big network but we generate a lot of data, hence the SAN.

[​IMG]

All suggestions welcome!

2. TheOracle

Capodecina

Can't see too much wrong with it

Assume you already bought the san?

3. james73

Associate

No. We have an old Equallogic NAS but the boss wants it replaced.

4. Throrik

Wise Guy

Although there are a thousand and one caveats to any question like this - yes you should be fine - Look at your IOP requirements and engage with SAN VARs to get the best deal you can.

5. TheOracle

Capodecina

Look at the compellent range (sc4000?), it offers a lot of good features. If you have a lot of data, might be worthwhile.

Just moved from equalogic to compellent myself, it's much, much better! and a lot less faffing about from the windows side.

6. james73

Associate

Is the Compellent SAS drives or SATA? I think (off the top of my head) one of the reasons the boss wanted shot of the old Equalogic SAN was the cost of the drives.

Any opinions on a Synology Rackstation NAS?

7. TheOracle

Capodecina

No it's sas and yeah they were expensive

8. james73

Associate

Roughly, what sort of cost for what sort of capacity?

9. Trig

Mobster

IP Address Conflict Detected..

Other than that, looks ok ;)

10. james73