Failover Cluster running Hyper V Server?

Associate
Ok. I'm a bit of a noob to Server virtualisation. I'd like a set-up as shown below - two physically identical boxes, running Hyper V Server, with a SAN storage attached.

My question is, can I run my entire network (less than 20 users) on a set-up like this? I'd be looking at around 4, 5 maybe 6 virtual servers on the Cluster boxes. It'd be one Domain Controller (running AD, File Server, etc) and the other servers smaller tasks (email server; back-up schedule; whatever else; etc).

We've not a big network but we generate a lot of data, hence the SAN.

All suggestions welcome!

Last edited:
Soldato
Although there are a thousand and one caveats to any question like this - yes you should be fine - Look at your IOP requirements and engage with SAN VARs to get the best deal you can.

Soldato
Look at the compellent range (sc4000?), it offers a lot of good features. If you have a lot of data, might be worthwhile.

Just moved from equalogic to compellent myself, it's much, much better! and a lot less faffing about from the windows side.

Associate
OP
Look at the compellent range (sc4000?), it offers a lot of good features. If you have a lot of data, might be worthwhile.

Just moved from equalogic to compellent myself, it's much, much better! and a lot less faffing about from the windows side.
Is the Compellent SAS drives or SATA? I think (off the top of my head) one of the reasons the boss wanted shot of the old Equalogic SAN was the cost of the drives.

Any opinions on a Synology Rackstation NAS?

Soldato
It's not just how much data we create, it's about how long we have to hold it and make it available.

Ideally you want a tiering san then. Flash storage for vms, 10k for current data and 7k for aged data. The san takes care of all this for you.