FarCry - HDR Lighting?

Soldato
Joined
30 Jul 2004
Posts
10,537
Location
South Africa
Hey all.

Well, I recently upgraded my old X800XT to a X1950Pro and now want to try this HRD lighting on FarCry, however I can't seem to find out how it's done...do I just need to download a patch or use a command?

Any help would be great!

Thanks guys!
 
Soldato
Joined
4 Nov 2004
Posts
4,220
Location
Seattle area, USA
tweakguides said:
r_HDRRendering [0-11] - 0=Off, 1-11=Level of Glare. HDR (High Dynamic Range) Rendering is a rendering method which can present incredibly realistic images by using vivid colors and lighting. By default this setting is disabled, but if your graphics settings are equivalent to 'Very High' and you have a graphics card which supports Shader Model 3.0 - that is the GeForce 6600 series and above or the ATI X1000 series or newer - then you can enable it by assigning a value between 1 and 11 for this setting. The values determine the level of glare from this effect, with suggested values being 7 or 2. Note that enabling HDR Rendering can see a significant drop in FPS. Also note that HDR will not normally work if Antialiasing is enabled, unless you have an ATI X1000 series card or above and either install the experimental 1.4 Patch (See page 4 for details), or the 6.10 Catalysts or newer.

Here
 
Soldato
Joined
14 Jul 2005
Posts
3,810
Location
Woking
I never got hdr working properly in FarCry. I would end up with see through walls and weird textures.

Like above, i ended up just setting it to paradise mode.
 
Associate
Joined
14 Nov 2006
Posts
2,057
Location
UK
mark1 said:
I never got hdr working properly in FarCry. I would end up with see through walls and weird textures.

Like above, i ended up just setting it to paradise mode.

Same here, No matter what setting it just screwed the textures up, Everything was rendered incorrectly aswell.
 
Soldato
Joined
15 Nov 2004
Posts
5,997
Location
Telford
martin9887 said:
Same here, No matter what setting it just screwed the textures up, Everything was rendered incorrectly aswell.

Happens if your card doesn't support AA+AF the same time as HDR, Happens with my 6800GT just turn off AA & AF & HDR will work fine :) or vice versa.
 
Associate
Joined
14 Nov 2006
Posts
2,057
Location
UK
Mattey1 said:
Happens if your card doesn't support AA+AF the same time as HDR, Happens with my 6800GT just turn off AA & AF & HDR will work fine :) or vice versa.

I have an 8800GTX, Im pretty sure it can support both at the same time? At the time I thought it was just the game playing up, Would really like to play the game through again with HDR.
 
Soldato
Joined
15 Nov 2004
Posts
5,997
Location
Telford
martin9887 said:
I have an 8800GTX, Im pretty sure it can support both at the same time? At the time I thought it was just the game playing up, Would really like to play the game through again with HDR.


Yeah it should work on that card, strange that it doesn't have you tried different drivers?
 
Back
Top Bottom