FC5 and Gentoo

Associate
Howdy,

Right I've been using Ubuntu for a good 6 months as my primary OS and it's been great. But I'm going to try the above two distros (FC5 because everyone is raving about it and I want to see what the fuss is and Gentoo because I want to learn more about linux, compilation, etc.). Also I'm beginning to not like the way Ubuntu is heading, but I'm wondering if you anyone can good sites for info/how-tos/docs on the above distros (I know the official docs pages but incase there's any smaller sites which provide useful info).

DHR

DHR

Soldato
Been a suse user for a few years, started using Fedora 5 over the weekend and its fantastic probably never go back to suse again!

Associate
OP
It's just a few little things about Ubuntu that seem to be tweaked towards the new user. Now this isn't a bad thing (I welcome it greatly since Linux has a lot of potential), but as time goes on I feel Ubuntu is less and less for me. I was a power user on Windows, and now that I have a fair bit of knowledge about Linux (I feel very comfortable with a term window, term commands etc.) I feel like I'm maybe being held back a tad.

The reason I'm considering Gentoo is I want to comfortable with the idea of compiling, I'm in the process of learning C (uni class and will probably continue learning after it - moving into C++) and hence want to know more about compilation, how to spot potential errors, interpreting errors, compile flags, etc. Not that fussed by the speed increase (if any) given by self-compilation. I may move to FC5 if I'm impressed but time shall tell.

P.S We should probably have a sticky with all the recommended distros, links to how-tos, etc. Think there was a post a while ago about the lack of stickies.

Associate
Give gentoo a try for sure. The offical docs are very good, and the gentoo-wiki is also great once you have your install up and running.