Final Fantasy 3 (6) on SNES

Associate
Hi All

This is my first time posting on a forum so hopefully I'm doing this correctly.

One Christmas, back in the day, I received Final Fantasy 3 (6) for my SNES. I very quickly realised that the game was something special. The story telling and presentation were like nothing I had seen before and at the time I had never played a turn based RPG which then had me hooked. After a day or two of playing glitches started to occur in the menus. This fast became such an issue that I couldn’t play it anymore. I ended up swapping it for another title (I can’t remember what exactly but it was a poor substitute). I should mention at this point that I owned a PAL SNES and I was playing an American import using a converter.

The pain of the loss was soothed on my birthday a few months later when Chrono Trigger came my way (again an NTSC import). My fear that this title would start to glitch through the new convertor I also received were unfounded and Chrono Trigger became (and possibly still is) my all-time favourite RPG beating Secret of Mana (which I received the Christmas prior to the Final Fantasy 6 Christmas, also an NTSC import).

It was a few years later that Final Fantasy 7 was released on the PlayStation. I have played and completed it a few times over the years and I still find it an incredible title (it doesn’t quite beat Chrono Trigger for me personally but it’s close).

Fast forward to present day and I found myself lamenting the missed experience of Final Fantasy 6. I decided to buy a copy in the hope that the slightly more modern convertor I had (which worked for Chrono Trigger, a later title) would be able to overcome the glitches. Alas it was not to be and in fact it started to glitch far sooner than I remembered all those years ago.