Finances and the future - your plans

Soldato
So what are your plans with regards to finances and retirement? How are you saving? Pensions, stocks and shares, property, cash etc? Are you even bothering to save up or are you more concerned with getting a house and settling down with my family first?

I'm 25 and have been thinking about this a lot lately for some reason. I've been working for 3 years now (first proper job after finishing uni, traveling etc). I spent the first couple of years saving solidly and about a year ago I bought a house with my girlfriend. We own ~35% at the moment, the rest we'll be paying off over the next 25 years.

Savings wise I'm putting £100 a month into a S+S ISA which I'm investing in a couple of tracker funds. I'm planning on continuing to pay into this for the next 40 odd years until retirement. I have a pension at work but they're only putting 2% on top of my contributions. I'm not that sold on pensions so I'm only putting in 1% into it so it's barely worth mentioning tbh. But that's it for me in terms of saving for my retirement.

I find it hard to imagine what life would be like in 40 years time so it's tricky to work out how much I need to save! I want to enjoy myself now and I'l be looking to start a family sometime in the near future so obviously that's going to cost a lot too, but then I don't want to be 50 and find out I've got jaff all saved!

Just wondering what other people's views on this are.

I would say I live a lot for the future rather than for now. The reasons being:

- I am on the warden team of an undergraduate hall whilst doing my PhD, so I have free rent, bills, some free meals.
- I get paid for my PhD via graduate school (same £ as EPSRC) and each month I have about £600 left and I do go out and do things and spend money.
- Getting a house with a decent mortgage rate needs at least a 10% deposit. This is why I am saving. Renting long term is for mugs.