1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Firefox on centos issue

Discussion in 'Linux & Open Source' started by opethdisciple, Nov 10, 2017.

  1. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 15,287

    Location: London

    Not having the best week. Struggling with one issue and have another.

    On work centos 6 vm I don't seem to be able to launch Firefox anymore.

    I've tried a uninstall/reinstall. I've removed my profile and nothing.

    If I jump on to another server via SSH and do a Firefox --no-remote it launches.

    But I can't launch it locally. :confused:
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2017
  2. pete910

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 3, 2013

    Posts: 1,679

    Tried a ldd firefox to see there's no libs missing?

    Or see if theres any errors on the console ?
     
  3. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 15,287

    Location: London

    I haven't tried that. Will try on Monday. It's blooming annoying as I don't really have the time to rebuild my box. I'm already snowed under with a project I'm working on.

    It's a strange one. When I open up Firefox it just sits in the task bar and then disappears.

    If I do a reboot I see a stuck Firefox processes.

    No errors in /var/log I could see.

    I get the bug reported thing pop up tho.
     
  4. arfoll

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 25, 2011

    Posts: 767

    If the error reporting turns up then a lib can't be missing (at least not in the ELF shared object table which is what ldd will show you.).

    I'd hazard you need to wipe your profile properly, you tried just moving `.mozilla` to `.mozilla_old`, making sure there's no random firefox process around and restarting. If that doesn't work, I'd try a different user and maybe a different window manager - it could be the compositing manager rashing firefox which is why it's working on another machine - does it work if you ssh to localhost and then try to run firefox?
     
  5. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 15,287

    Location: London

    The bug that keeps popping up is the following:

    "Process /usr/lib64/firefox/firefox was killed by signal 11 (SIGSEGV)"

    ----

    When I run ldd on firefox I get the below:

    ldd /usr/lib64/firefox/firefox
    linux-vdso.so.1 => (0x00007fffbe3b3000)
    libpthread.so.0 => /lib64/libpthread.so.0 (0x00000030db200000)
    libdl.so.2 => /lib64/libdl.so.2 (0x00000030db600000)
    librt.so.1 => /lib64/librt.so.1 (0x00000030dba00000)
    libstdc++.so.6 => /usr/lib64/libstdc++.so.6 (0x00000030e6600000)
    libm.so.6 => /lib64/libm.so.6 (0x00000030dbe00000)
    libgcc_s.so.1 => /lib64/libgcc_s.so.1 (0x00000030e5e00000)
    libc.so.6 => /lib64/libc.so.6 (0x00000030dae00000)
    /lib64/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2 (0x00000030daa00000)
     
  6. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 15,287

    Location: London

    Just tried this still no joy.

    I'm thinking it might just be quicker for me to rebuild my box than try to trouble shoot this issue.
     
  7. SMN

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 2, 2008

    Posts: 2,325

    Location: The ether

    strace? :)
     
  8. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 15,287

    Location: London

    Nothing intelligible. :(
     
  9. SMN

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 2, 2008

    Posts: 2,325

    Location: The ether

    Did you create a new user and try and launch it as that new user?
     
  10. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 15,287

    Location: London

    Nope. I'll try tomorrow.

    If it runs as a new user, what does that tell us?
     
  11. SMN

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 2, 2008

    Posts: 2,325

    Location: The ether

    Your going to need to start logging in as opethdisciple-new :D

    It tells us theres an environment variable set for your user that Firefox doesnt like, or there is a per-user config file thats corrupt etc. It means its not a system-wide problem, which helps.
     
  12. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 15,287

    Location: London

    OK. Created new user and it too can't launch Firefox.
     
  13. SMN

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 2, 2008

    Posts: 2,325

    Location: The ether

  14. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 15,287

    Location: London

  15. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 15,287

    Location: London

    I found that you can run Firefox in debug mode by using the flag -g but it doesnt really show anything interesting:

    firefox -g

    MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME=/usr/lib64/firefox
    LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib64/firefox:/usr/lib64/firefox/plugins:/usr/lib64/firefox
    DISPLAY=:0.0
    FONTCONFIG_PATH=/etc/fonts:/usr/lib64/firefox/res/Xft
    DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib64/firefox:/usr/lib64/firefox
    LIBRARY_PATH=
    SHLIB_PATH=/usr/lib64/firefox:/usr/lib64/firefox
    LIBPATH=/usr/lib64/firefox:/usr/lib64/firefox
    ADDON_PATH=
    MOZ_PROGRAM=/usr/lib64/firefox/firefox
    MOZ_TOOLKIT=
    moz_debug=1
    moz_debugger=
    moz_debugger_args=
    /usr/lib64/firefox/run-mozilla.sh: line 84: type: ddd: not found <------ Of any relevance?
    /usr/bin/gdb --args /usr/lib64/firefox/firefox
    GNU gdb (GDB) Red Hat Enterprise Linux (7.2-92.el6)
    Copyright (C) 2010 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
    License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>
    This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
    There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law. Type "show copying"
    and "show warranty" for details.
    This GDB was configured as "x86_64-redhat-linux-gnu".
    For bug reporting instructions, please see:
    <http://www.gnu.org/software/gdb/bugs/>...
    Reading symbols from /usr/lib64/firefox/firefox...(no debugging symbols found)...done.
    Missing separate debuginfos, use: debuginfo-install firefox-52.4.0-1.el6.centos.x86_64
    (gdb) run

    Starting program: /usr/lib64/firefox/firefox
    [Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
    [New Thread 0x7fffed80b700 (LWP 7034)]
    [Thread 0x7fffed80b700 (LWP 7034) exited]
    Detaching after fork from child process 7035.
    [New Thread 0x7fffed80b700 (LWP 7039)]
    [New Thread 0x7fffe9dff700 (LWP 7040)]
    [New Thread 0x7fffe93fe700 (LWP 7041)]
    [New Thread 0x7fffe89fd700 (LWP 7042)]
    [New Thread 0x7fffe7dff700 (LWP 7043)]
    [New Thread 0x7fffe73fe700 (LWP 7044)]
    [New Thread 0x7fffe69fd700 (LWP 7045)]
    [New Thread 0x7fffe5ffc700 (LWP 7046)]
    [New Thread 0x7fffe55fb700 (LWP 7047)]
    [New Thread 0x7fffe4bfa700 (LWP 7048)]
    [New Thread 0x7fffe41f9700 (LWP 7049)]
    [New Thread 0x7fffe37f8700 (LWP 7050)]
    [New Thread 0x7fffe2df7700 (LWP 7051)]
    [New Thread 0x7fffe1dff700 (LWP 7052)]
    [New Thread 0x7fffe13fe700 (LWP 7053)]

    It just hangs here and doesn't go any further.
     
  16. arfoll

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 25, 2011

    Posts: 767

    you got any weird libraries in /usr/local and that's in your ld.so.conf? The output of ldd might show something going to somewhere unexpected I guess... Still if it works over ssh then that all points to some env issue, so new user would be best test
     
  17. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 15,287

    Location: London

    It doesn't launch for a new user either.

    Haven't had time to really trouble shoot this this week. Work is too busy.

    I am in the process tho of preparing a new VM so I can just get on with life. :p
     


Share This Page